Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Merrick Academy Queens Public Charter School 4

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
Merick Academy has come a long way, and are getting better everyday. I almost removed my child from the school at one point, but the Ms. Griffin and my son's teacher Ms. Danielle Spence worked with my child and I and I thank God I waited. I am sure they will keep on getting better as they strive to make every child's education experience worth while, while they get the very best education. Way to go Merrick Academy!

Merrick Academy Queens Public Charter School 3

Posted September 03, 2013
- a parent
Do you know where is the new facility they are movinng to? Thanks. I am considdring sending my child to Merrick Academy.


Merrick Academy Queens Public Charter School 1

Posted June 13, 2013
- a parent
My child has attended Merrick Academy since 2009. Merrick has definitely had its bumps along the way however I have to say that this year has renewed my confidence in Merrick Academy and reminded me why I chose this school. Dismissal has been going on smoothly and the teachers are just amazing with the kids and work very hard with them. My son benefitted greatly from their extended Saturday school and the ELA carnival was one of his favorite moments this year. Field day which was held today for the upper grades was also a joy for me to participate in and all of the kids, teachers and parents seemed to have a wonderful time. As for the facility they are moving and will be in a facility with a full gym next year so physical Ed taking place in the classrooms will no longer be an issue. I personally love this school and am happy my son attends. Happy Parent!

Merrick Academy Queens Public Charter School 2

Posted April 09, 2013
- a community member
I started at this school from when it first opened in 2000 and went all the way up to 6th grade. I loved it when I was going there. I never had a problem with any teachers. But now, my sister does there and I must say, Merrick has fallen off. I dont know what it is, but I feel like everytime I go in there, it feel like I'm surrounded by a bunch of wild animals. There is no doubt a control problem between the kids and the students.

Merrick Academy Queens Public Charter School 1

Posted January 29, 2013
- a parent
I am very disappointed in Merrick academy. Communication between parents and staff are not promoted there. their dismissal is unorganized and safety is a issue. They do not have an open door policy in the school. You have to make an appointment to see the teacher for your kids report card, kids progress in class and they do not allow parents to view their children routine in the classroom. There is no gym, the gym are held in the class room. The children have no physical activities during the day. I hope Merrick Academy improve because these kids are getting short changed in both their education and the location of their school.


Merrick Academy Queens Public Charter School 3

Posted June 10, 2011
- a parent
VERY MATURE RESPONSE WHAT A SCHOOL I FEEL THAT WAS UN CALLED FOR IT SHOW THE MATURITY LEVEL OF THE TEACHERS UNDER THE OLD REGIME.

Merrick Academy Queens Public Charter School 2

Posted June 03, 2011
- a community member
You forgot to include how the school is going to financially survive. You made great points but to start over, you got to have funds. So I ask, how is this school going to pay good teachers like you a salary? Former concerned Teacher who glad one left!

Merrick Academy Queens Public Charter School 1

Posted March 18, 2011
- a teacher
I am currently a teacher at Merrick Academy. It is difficult to find the solution for the years of corruption stemming from Merrick's Board of Trustees and their contractor "Victory Schools." it really is a shame that charter schools like Merrick Academy are being run by businessmen, and not educators. They are usually lawyers or politicians...not truly concerned with our students best interest's. Its difficult to go to work everyday when you are surrounded by negativitey and poor managment. Here is the simple solution. Remove the current board, terminate relations with Victory Schools, and start fresh with the right leaders inplace to ensure a quality program. -Merrick Academy Teacher currently seeking another job


Merrick Academy Queens Public Charter School 3

Posted August 03, 2010
- a parent
im deeply upset and unhappy about the latest firing of teachers at merrick academy. im a parent of a second grader and thinking of moving my child to another school. these teachers work very hard and deserve all our support..shame on all of you that done this to our teachers.

Merrick Academy Queens Public Charter School 5

Posted March 19, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Merrick Academy Queens Public Charter School
207-01 Jamaica Ave, Queens Village, NY  11428
(718) 479-3753
Last modified Merrick Academy Queens Public Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Merrick Academy Queens Public Charter School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top