Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

3-12|Private
243 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
4 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 8 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Lowell School 5

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
attended lowell school 1974-1977. my teachers i remember were ted finkelstein,lynn katz,roz katz,joanne brightener,and others there names have faded.38 years later if lowell and my teachers had not been there for me,my success would have failed.i now own an auto wholesale business,and have so for the past 28 years.

The Lowell School 5

Posted March 20, 2014
- a teacher
The teachers and staff here are very caring and it is clear that the small class size has an effect on the success of every student. I hope the current administration continues to recruit and hire the best and most capable teachers.


The Lowell School 5

Posted October 01, 2010
- a parent
The Lowell School is a special education school which is based in Queens, N.Y. and is housed in 2 separate centers. Their small but quaint/nurturing school in Bayside, Queens has approx, 111 students from 3rd to 8th grade and their smal but efficient high school has approx. 130 students from 9th -12th grade. The entire school staff including principal is top notch and its warm,home-like ennviroment makes it one of a kind. The school is on a mission which is called "brick by brick", which its goal is to raise enough money to open up 1 school that houses both sites. Because of the size of both schools, many special needs children have to be turned away due to no open spots. I had to wait years before my son was accepted due to the lack of a open spot. I'm hoping that by writing this review, no special needs child will ever have to be turned away.

The Lowell School
no rating

Posted October 07, 2009
- a parent
The Lowell School is committed to each child and their learning needs. The dedicated and talented staff are amazing!

The Lowell School
no rating

Posted October 02, 2009
- a parent
The Lowell School is the best school because it cares about our kids, it makes the learning experience as fun as possible!!!


The Lowell School
no rating

Posted October 02, 2009
- a parent
This my daughter's first year at the school and she said, 'the school fits me like a glove'. As a parent of a child with a learning disability you can't ask for more than that.

The Lowell School
no rating

Posted October 02, 2009
- a parent
This school is the most amazing place for all children. When my children gained their acceptance, my husband and I felt like the luckiest people in the world. It was like hitting the lotto. Our daughters are learning, setting goals for themselves and achieving what they set out to. They are thriving and we are thankful to the wonderful teachers, administration and staff. They will succeed in life based on the education they are receiving at Lowell.

The Lowell School 5

Posted October 02, 2009
- a parent
This should be the model for every school to follow. Each student in the school has an IEP and their education plan is followed. The teachers, administration and staff are actively involoved in each and every studen'ts daily life and are strong advocates of their needs. They are the most wonderful, caring educators you can ever meet. Their values and perseverence begins with the executive director and is exemplified by each and every member of the Lowell School staff. Our children are the luckiest children on the planet to be in this school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Lowell School
203-05 32nd Avenue, Queens, NY  11361
(718) 352-2100
Last modified The Lowell School is a Private school that serves grades 3-12
The Lowell School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top