Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 75 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Academy for Excellence Through the Arts
Grateful to: Parent

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
Parent coordinator (Ms. Sinoway) is very helpful in navigating the school paperwork, systems, etc. Helps that she offers a parent's perspective.

Academy for Excellence Through the Arts 5

Posted January 06, 2016
- a parent
PS303 is a dream public school. Mrs. Leto, the principal, is a visionary and the teachers we know are all very caring and capable. The PTA and family support is extremely strong. Students are fun loving and very creative. Excellent arts and theater teachers instruct kids in fine arts and theater performing. Comments on my child's literacy notebook from his class teacher are so thorough and sophisticate that make me wonder if he was in for a creative writing career :) Its 3rd graders score high on state tests and the averages of their ELA scores have been comparable to that of the city-wide G&T schools. I do wish the school will be able to add a real gym and a dedicated maker space (with 3D printers and even basic CNC machines) as part of its expansion from pk-3 to pk-5.


Academy for Excellence Through the Arts 5

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
An excellent school with a focus on the arts with an outstanding after-school program (Wingspan). The school is relatively small and many children and families know each other. While the school admissions is open to the district, the vast majority of children are from the neighborhood.

Academy for Excellence Through the Arts 5

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
PS 303 is a gem in the NYC public school system. Starting with the Principal, Ms. Letto, down to the support staff, everybody is not only committed to excellence but they are also good and kind people, so you feel at peace knowing your child is in good hands. The curriculum is more demanding that other public schools and reading and math starts at Pre-K. They make the students work hard but they raise to the challenge. The afterschool program run by Wingspan is excellent. I wish they had a gym so kids could be more active during the winter, but they will be expanding the school in the coming years, so hopefully they will build one.

Academy for Excellence Through the Arts 5

Posted May 01, 2014
- a parent
The Academy of Excellence through the Arts, PS 303 is a very close knit school that nurtures and supports the children as they become well rounded students. With only two classes per grade, all of the students and teachers know each other which lends itself to a great community atmosphere. The student/teacher ratio is way better than many of the schools in the area. The school does lack a library or gym, but it is made up for by the programs and curriculum it provides. My children love attending the school and I would recommend it to anyone who asks.


Academy for Excellence Through the Arts 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
The Academy of Excellence through the Arts, PS 303 is a wonderful experience that every child should have the chance to receive. From the loving staff to the unique and excellent programs offered there contribute to making this a top notch school. My older daughter started in Pre-K the first year they opened. She graduated last June,2013. She misses it tremendously. She enjoyed each and every day of her school days there. Luckily, I have a second daughter there in Kindergarten who wakes up and can't wait to see her teacher everyday. I only wish it went thru to HS.

Academy for Excellence Through the Arts 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school for my child. The teachers are very professional and are easy to talk with. Parents are encouraged to volunteer and participate, either on school projects, trips, or even volunteer during the lunch time. The school demands high standards from the children, and the children are able to provide this. I'm very glad my first born has been fortunate enough to attend PS 303, and I'm hopeful that my child's sibling will be able to attend.

Academy for Excellence Through the Arts 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
AEA does an excellent job of using it's resources to bringing students to where they need to be for the third grade ELA/Math Test. Earning the top score in the district in previous years. Reading, writing and math starts in Pre-K here. If your child lags behind in any of these subjects s/he will receive extra help afterschool beginning in Kindergarten. The kids have a rotation of art, drama and other electives (cooking, video star..etc) added to their schedules through the year and starting in the first grade they'll have the experience of putting on a play. All the teachers at PS 303 work hard to get results. Two recommendations I would make for this school. First is that they allow the Pre-K students to have more scheduled free play time and Second, to allocate some resources towards those students who are ahead of the curve.


Academy for Excellence Through the Arts 4

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school with caring educators that go above and beyond to see their students excel in all areas. The children love this school because of the many wonderful events and activities they put together. There are productions they put together where the kids partake in reading lines and there's always something exciting going on. In short, if you want to see your child excel and reach their full potential then this is the school to send them to because this school takes their students success very seriously and they work hard to achieve success!

Academy for Excellence Through the Arts 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
We are proud to be part of P.S 303 family. Our kids are getting a great education from such dedicated teachers who challenges them to learn and succeed. I especially love the attention and caring the school gives the students. My kids are very happy there. I wish they could stay there until 5th grade. We feel so fortunate that our kids are able to attend this special school. Mrs. Leto cares so much about the school that she's always thinking ahead of how to make it better. That is why there is such support from parents. We see that she wants what's best for the school and our children. We love P.S 303!!!!!

Nearby schools

Academy for Excellence Through the Arts
108-55 69th Avenue, Queens, NY  11375
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 75 reviews. (718) 459-1358
Last modified Academy for Excellence Through the Arts is a Public school that serves grades PK-3. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top