Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Voice Charter School of New York 5

Posted May 10, 2016
- a parent
In my experience so far, the VOICE staff and teachers have been incredibly responsive. We are wrapping up our first year at VOICE with my kindergartner; every morning, my son is happy to go to school, and he runs in the door every morning with a smile on his face. VOICE has reinforced his love of learning, and music is giving him a creative and energetic outlet in a time when so few other schools are able to offer it. My other son is in pre-K at a nearby public school, and I see a difference in how staff and teachers interact with students at the two schools, and it makes me happy and grateful that we have the privilege of being a VOICE family.

Voice Charter School of New York
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 10, 2016
- a parent
I would like to thank Ms. Baksh for her caring an nurturing attitude with her kindergarten students; thanks as well to Caty and Dayna in the administration who are very responsive to parents and bring great energy and spirit to the school's leadership!


Voice Charter School of New York
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 10, 2016
- a parent
My son is in kindergarten at VOICE and already at home he has started to talk a lot about how we should treat other people, etc., so I know that compassion and kindness are spoken about at school.

Voice Charter School of New York
Grateful to: Student

Posted March 30, 2016
- a community member
Thank you for expressing your true feelings about not being able to identify to your teacher because they don't look like you or understand where you come from. Voice needs to take this in to consideration and prompt more ethnic diversity among teachers.

Voice Charter School of New York
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted March 30, 2016
- a community member
Most of these teachers would qualify as apprentice teachers. They are getting paid a decent salary and have little or no clue what they are doing? Should we be complacent in having our kids used as test subjects to have them hone their craft? Would they do this in wealthier areas?


Voice Charter School of New York
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted March 30, 2016
- a community member
No, there is an emphasis on the utilization of music to met goals but teachers need to also show a genuine interest not look like they are just doing a job.

Voice Charter School of New York
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted March 30, 2016
- a community member
If your going to discipline a student tell them why don't send them to sit in the office until you send for them.

Voice Charter School of New York
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted March 30, 2016
- a community member
It depends on the teacher. Some of the teacher are more attentive than others as well as the administrative staff.


Voice Charter School of New York
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted March 30, 2016
- a community member
No, because half the time teachers aren't paying attention to students. There inexperience shows especially when dealing with students with behavioral problems. Its nice to want teachers to "treat students with kindness and care" on paper, but observations during recess doesn't align with paper goals.

Voice Charter School of New York 1

Posted March 30, 2016
- a community member
There are many things wrong with this school. First and foremost safety. Anyone can buzz the doorbell and enter the school, there is no security guard posted at the door to validate identification at most school. Second, they are completely unorganized. They have no regard for time, and they don't get back to you in a timely fashion.Third, the majority of teachers are highly inexperienced and because music is utilized is this supposed to up the perception of the school? Fourth, where is the ethnic diversity among the administrative staff, and majority of teachers? This is a school primarily based in a low income area so how does the British speaking administrator or the predominantly white staff relate to their students? Which is one of the complaints of students they can't relate to their teachers, if more than 80% of the students are minorities why is the majority of the administrative and overall faculty white?Lastly, reviews from a 2014 article in a NY newspaper isn't enough. It's 2016, someone needs to conduct an "undercover investigative assignment" to see the flaws of this school. I was appalled to hear a white administrative say "whats up dog!" Lastly, students are always in the office for some reason or the other, and no one acknowledges them until other students from their class are sent to get them. Voice looks better on paper than in person, wake up parents, our children deserve the best!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Voice Charter School of New York
36-24 12th Street, Queens, NY  11106
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (718) 361-1694
Last modified Voice Charter School of New York is a Charter school that serves grades K-7. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top