Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Academy of the City Charter School 4

Posted June 13, 2014
- a parent
Ok our school is great.. let's not go over the top everyone giving it 5 stars. It lacks several things parents..and if you're an organized person this School will BUG you. Several events and special days are complete CHAOS. if you have a little one, it makes you uneasy, breakfast time in the morning is also worrisome, kids just run a muck while I don't even know who ''monitors''. I learned fast and starting giving him breakfast at home before and dropping him after.. I was not completely satisfied with Kindergarten teacher either... she was in my opinion, a bit overwhelmed at all times, overlooking several hitting. pushing and fighting incidents. Everyone else and everything else is great.

Academy of the City Charter School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
my son has bee at academy from the beginning and is in 2nd grade right now. He loves it. It feels like a family. Everyone is so helpful and accessible. Staff and teachers are amazing. I could t ask for a better school for him.


Academy of the City Charter School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
Academy of the city charter are terrific, awesome, professional staff and faculty! Excellent school, my kid learn a lot from kindergarten! He know how to count, how to write and read clearly, he loves this school so much!!!

Academy of the City Charter School 5

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
This is a awesome school it's more like a family everyone is so involved with the children's learning all of the staff are great, I know as working parents you sometimes miss a beat or two but not with AOC you will always be on top.They make it helpful with the google group and I must say couldn't have made a wiser choice for my son's education . AOC ROCKS

Academy of the City Charter School 5

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
We love this school. The staffs are helpful and friendly, always available to answer your questions. We are very happy with this school. My Child has learn so much and he loves his teachers.


Academy of the City Charter School 5

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
My daughter just started attending Academy of The City this year and I can say with all honesty that it was one of the wisest choices we made as far as her education. We had her enrolled in another school but after the open house, we were sold! The educators are top notch, the principle and his administration go above and beyond to be proactive and get to know each family. Even the Board of Administration head shows up for the children's shows and events. Where else do you see that? I really have no downside to add. Sky's the limit with this school. Well done.

Academy of the City Charter School 5

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
Awesome school! I love the creativity in the academics and the attention to the social/emotional well-being of the children. The principal is fantastic and has assembled a caring staff. Teachers are enthusiastic, thoughtful, smart and fun. My daughter loves AoC.

Academy of the City Charter School 5

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
It is a great school my daughter is in second grade, the teachers, the principal and the entire staff of the school are excellent.


Academy of the City Charter School 5

Posted March 20, 2014
- a parent
Fantastic!! We transferred in the first year and have never been happier. The principal is incredibly gifted at what he does. He's always available, is in the hallways, in the classrooms and knows all the kids and parents by name. The office staff is friendly and helpful, someone always picks up the phone or returns my email promptly. The teachers have been kind, caring and very tuned into the kids. This is a progressive school that is child centered. Our daughter has been so happy here, and they're all like family to us.

Academy of the City Charter School 5

Posted February 26, 2014
- a parent
This school is amazing!! The staff, principles, teachers, security are excellent!! I was devestated when they moved to wood side because the kids and I finally found a school we loved!! I changed them to a closer school and it's a nightmare. I wish I could get them back in to our favorite school!!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Academy of the City Charter School
31-29 60th Street, Queens, NY  11377
(718) 487-9857
Last modified Academy of the City Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-3
Academy of the City Charter School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top