Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

The staff is very caring and extremely professional. From the moment the children arrive in the morning, until they leave, some at 6pm after the after-school program, they are taken care of by teachers, administrators and staff that work very hard at creating a whole-child educational experience. There is an emphasis on their "specials", including science, art and music. The music program is a highlight, offering four concerts a year (Winter and Spring, K-2 and 3-5).
May 25, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (8 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (8 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (8 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (9 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (9 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (9 responses)
characters left.
There are 92 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Academy of the City Charter School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
Thank you all to school leader, teacher, staff member and parents. You all work together to make this school a great school. Thank you teachers for instilling confidence in my children and making the learning fun.

Academy of the City Charter School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
I believe so, as my both children, one in 4th grade and another one in 2nd grade love this school. They are always happy to go school and enjoys all their classes including clubs. They have cooking, newspapers, soccer, basketball, book making, photography, board games, arts and crafts, legos, and so on. I love to hear when my children goes like "may be I should be a chef when I grow up or journalist". Besides club, they have science, arts, music, and physical education. But most of all, recess everyday! Personally I think recess everyday is a great idea for children to get freshen and ready for the rest of the subject (Reading, writing, and math). I am very happy to see my children are learning and gaining confidence. My boy used to be quite and shy before when he was at different school, but now I see him participating in almost all the topics that comes across.


Academy of the City Charter School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
Yes, they listen and respect each individual opinions and thoughts and provides feedback to students and their parents.

Academy of the City Charter School 5

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
This school has a very welcoming and friendly environment. Moment you step in, all the staff members from custodian to principal makes you feel included.

Academy of the City Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 25, 2016
- a school leader
I would like to thank both 3rd grade teachers, Ms. Smallberg and Ms. Talbot. They are both extremely dedicated and it's apparent that those children, as well as others, are in wonderful hands.


Academy of the City Charter School 5

Posted May 25, 2016
- a school leader
The staff is very caring and extremely professional. From the moment the children arrive in the morning, until they leave, some at 6pm after the after-school program, they are taken care of by teachers, administrators and staff that work very hard at creating a whole-child educational experience. There is an emphasis on their "specials", including science, art and music. The music program is a highlight, offering four concerts a year (Winter and Spring, K-2 and 3-5).

Academy of the City Charter School 5

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
Great school, solid administration, excellent instructors, involved community. We have 2 children at AoC, and soon 3. We love how well cared they are from everyone, be it the security personnel or the principal. Teachers are very dedicated. Thanks to Ms. Miskin, Ms. Smallberg, Ms. Diamand, Ms. Galea, Ms. V., Mr. Nunez, our children are thriving. I am sure I am forgetting to include lots of equally fantastic other teachers, so forgive me. While classes are too big for my taste with 27-30 kids, the teachers work very hard at giving individual attention to each child. The friendly Mr. Shroeder takes great care with the kids' book choices. Mr. Lee, the principal and Ms Galashaw, the deputy principal, are on the ball and always ready to have a conversation and to assist, and are open to implementing new ideas at the school, something we have always appreciated. The admin staff is terrific - Mr. Hunt, Mr. Peguero, Alex, Angelina, Paul and Edwin, are always there with a smile on their faces genuinely helping kids and parents alike. We previously had our eldest at another school and the difference is stark. Where he came home defeated and overwhelmed, now he comes home confident and alive. Lots of thanks from the Sanchez family! We love you AoC!!

Academy of the City Charter School 5

Posted May 24, 2016
- a student
The school is very diverse, very friendly staff members, and students enjoy learning new materials through hands on experience.


Academy of the City Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a student
I would like to thank the 2nd grade teacher Ms. Hawkins for never giving up on my daughter and actually encourage her to always do her best.

Academy of the City Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a community member
Ms. Camarata and Ms. Tehomilic, thank you for all you do for all of your students. Your patience, kind and caring words mean everything!

Nearby schools

Academy of the City Charter School
31-29 60th Street, Queens, NY  11377
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 92 reviews. (718) 487-9857
Last modified Academy of the City Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top