Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Queens Gateway To Health Sciences Secondary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 04, 2015
- a community member
The only teacher that has helped me a lot was Ms.Pinto. She's an amazing loving teacher. She will never tolerate a frown and she'll make sure to cheer you up.

Queens Gateway To Health Sciences Secondary School 5

Posted October 15, 2012
- a community member
"im supposedto go togateway but the principal's (she has an attitude) computer system probably made a mistake and now im not excepted. she cares for no one elses success but hers. she has not a sensitive bone in her body. Even her own staff is afraid of her. ive seen it with my own eyes. if you do go to gateway try to stay away from the pricipal. " It's not the principal who controls all this. I agree the school system is not that great, but it's pretty easy to get in. just have an 85 or above on everything.


Queens Gateway To Health Sciences Secondary School 4

Posted September 06, 2012
- a community member
im supposedto go togateway but the principal's (she has an attitude) computer system probably made a mistake and now im not excepted. she cares for no one elses success but hers. she has not a sensitive bone in her body. Even her own staff is afraid of her. ive seen it with my own eyes. if you do go to gateway try to stay away from the pricipal.

Queens Gateway To Health Sciences Secondary School 4

Posted August 19, 2012
- a community member
I hate how people get hyped over QGST. I go here, and they don't let the "little kids" do anything with the school. It's boring, too many unessasary rules and all that. I like most of my teachers, but they don't really support you like good teachers should. Most of em anyway. I like it overall.. There is a lot of bullying though, and the counselors seem to shrug it off.

Queens Gateway To Health Sciences Secondary School
no rating

Posted May 21, 2009
- a community member
QUeens Gateway is an excellent school! I am a graduate of the first class of the millennium! Class of 2000! The Teachers really cared and more importantly, the parents of the P.T.A at the time were dynamic! It is because of those parents why Gateway has their own building. I had the best Teachers and although there were not many extracurricular activities, when I was there, we made our own activities! I was on the Student Council and there was a Track Team and a Boys Basketball team. We were a very close-knit group that had great relationships with the staff and many opportunities to get hosital experience.


Queens Gateway To Health Sciences Secondary School 5

Posted August 28, 2007
- a student

Queens Gateway To Health Sciences Secondary School
no rating

Posted August 17, 2007
- a student
Queens GAteway is a great school for anyone who is considering the medical field as a future option. THe school has hospital rotation that take place at Queens Hospital Center. The students and families of Queens GAteway are closely tied together by the missions we all want to accomplsih. Even though this school is more directive towards the medical field, students who wish to enter other various fields can also attend too because not only is the school helping students reach out towards the medical fields but it is also helping those students who wish to be successful in other areas as well. I would personally reccommend any student to attend this school for its excenlent security, education, staff and well behaved students too.

Queens Gateway To Health Sciences Secondary School 4

Posted November 26, 2006
- a student
This school is one of the best schools in Queens. The staff is hard working and because of the effort of the students, the staff get motivated to teach. Even though this school doesn't have as many extra curricular activities, it has AP classes as well as teams and clubs. Everyday this school is trying to be vary in opportunities. With the help of the students and their parents, I think that this school will grow into a successful facility.


Queens Gateway To Health Sciences Secondary School 3

Posted February 03, 2006
- a student
This school is horrible.There are no extracurricular activities for the students to participate in.As a student I have told my mother time and time again that the teachers don't put effort into the well-fare or education of the students.When people speak of this school,the first thing that comes to mind is its greatness.Unfortunately,students are just as bad in this school as in any other school. Even though bad behavior takes place in this school,there is also the fact that the drop-out rate is low and the graduation rate high.

Nearby schools

Queens Gateway To Health Sciences Secondary School
160-20 Goethals Avenue, Queens, NY  11432
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (718) 969-3155
Last modified Queens Gateway To Health Sciences Secondary School is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top