Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Queens, NY
Students enrolled: 888
 

5 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Newcomers High School 4

Posted January 13, 2015
- a student
I was a newcomers high school student from 2009 to 2013. I would not give it a five star since its academy is not that exceptional. There was no office hour and most teachers did not care about grammar. Sometimes there were gang fights but they are very rare.It is a safe environment overall and all you need to do is be careful whom you are with. You can leave after the official class if you want. No one would prevent you except that a certain teacher knows you have his/her class. Once you submit your works, it is your responsibility to ask questions. Teachers rarely go over homework. In a word, it is where you really learn self-management. You can be better or worse here. Interestingly, you will find out that everyone has a story behind due to different cultural backgrounds. Tips for students who want to attend this school: 1. Learn English (learn grammar on yourself) 2. Practice SAT when you are a freshman. 3. Read English books 4. Doing at least 3 practical regents exams and understand your mistakes before each exam (This will give you at least 85 or higher). 5. Take AP classes and try to pass it with 3 or higher. 6. Play as much as you can

Newcomers High School 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a student
I was a student at Newcomers from 2008 to 2012. It was the best experience ever, this school is special and you will never find a place as special like this school. The staff is friendly, the classes are good and the Media and Music programs are exceptional with greatly qualified teachers. I wish I had more money to help fund this school this is truly a unique place for immigrants. I am sure this school will go into history without a doubt. It is already part of my history.


Newcomers High School 1

Posted August 26, 2014
- a parent
School very unorganized, teachers and staff really rude and disrespectful. They treat kinds like animals just because they are new immigrants which is a very sad thing.

Newcomers High School 5

Posted March 16, 2014
- a community member
Best school of this state of NY. As a former student i can say that for the first time in years, i was finally enjoying school and wanted to learn. the diversity is amazing and you don't hear trouble like the typical American schools. Very friendly and encouraging teachers and administrators and staffs.

Newcomers High School 4

Posted December 29, 2012
- a student
A sterling school which always encourages students to go for the best.The teachers are courteous and always wish you good luck.


Newcomers High School 5

Posted April 08, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Newcomers High School 5

Posted March 12, 2010
- a parent
Im proud parent one of their students:) he is senior,apllied in to three colleges-he got in to all of them:) Many thanks to great teachers and all of coworkers

Newcomers High School 5

Posted December 19, 2009
- a student
best high school in ny for immigrants.


Newcomers High School 0
no rating

Posted September 21, 2009
- a parent
one of New York's great strengths is the education and success of immigrants. Newcomers is unique and special shool where motivated young immigrants can excel and thrive. The teachers are the most dedicated, creative and committed professionals. I am proud to vote for this most exceptional school. I am a counselor and I have worked with this excellent school.

Newcomers High School 5

Posted September 20, 2009
- a teacher
Newcomers is a school of students from all over the world who learn to live together. I learn so much from the students every day. They are committed, caring and eager to improve.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Newcomers High School
28-01 41st Avenue, Queens, NY  11101
(718) 937-6005
Last modified Newcomers High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Newcomers High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top