Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
77 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 120 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Francis Lewis High School 4

Posted June 10, 2016
- a community member
Excellent Public School. The children receive a great education. Teachers are very good. A lot to choose from.

Francis Lewis High School 4

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
Very organized and parent friendly! Teachers are very down to earth and try to help those students who need extra help.


Francis Lewis High School 4

Posted April 30, 2015
- a student
I'm a freshman and so far so good. The teachers actually care , it's a little crowed after a while it's okay anyway's I really enjoy going to Francis Lewis !

Francis Lewis High School 5

Posted October 14, 2014
- a student
I have been in Francis Lewis since 2012 and this is my final year. What can I say about this lovely school, first its good commute for me taking both bus and train. Second everyone is so nice to you the teacher, students, friends, and even the principal. I almost made friends with everyone in the school, and the teachers they are very awesome, they want you to succeed to make you college ready. What people don't get is the teacher and principal are acting as a parent in school because they don't nothing bad to happen to you and people make it such a issue saying they still want to go outside and saying all bad things to the principal.

Francis Lewis High School 4

Posted April 19, 2014
- a parent
Overall - I'm happy with this school. Much better than the school my kids were zoned for. I'll tell you the Pros & Cons. I feel my boys are safe, most importantly. I haven't heard of any fights. The kids in the school in general are great. I like all the teachers except one English teacher who doesn't have a postive attitude but actually I feel the teaching in English 9th grade is below average. Overall I think quality teaching is reserved for the honor classes. In the general classes, it's unpredictable. For ie. in one SS class there is a great teacher but they allowed to many disruptive students to exist and my child is not able to learn as much as he could be. I also don't see much homework and I think there could be better parent communication. They have a great law program and JROTC is amazing! Not sure why, but one son had two teachers for math (which was great for him) and the other did not. For the creative child - I wish they had more art and music programs, however they don't. I think if your child wants to do well they will regardless - because there are plenty of tudoring opportunities and extra help classes. The parent coordinator is very helpful & nice.


Francis Lewis High School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
i would give 5 star to the teachers and the counselars all of my daughter teacher are willing to help all the time and are on top of the kids when they cut classes calling to the parents and that is great because no all the teachers take their extra time to do it this school too had many great programs and i recomended to other parents

Francis Lewis High School 4

Posted March 11, 2014
- a parent
Pro: I was worried about sending my child to this school in Sept 2013. No worries. If your child has an average of 80/85+ & is in one of the 3 special programs, life is good. If your child is in the gen population, I can't answer to your worries. Student's are offered numerous after school activities to join, but probably will only have time to join one. It is very safe and diverse. Every race, religion & background is in honors & they all get along. Don't worry about overcrowding, your kids aren't stupid & will make it to classes (besides, teens "like" other teens). Cons: It's difficult to keep track of HW, test dates, etc. because each teacher uses different websites. There is PupilPath, Edmodo, Castle Learning, the board, email, comments when kids are going out the door, etc. However, this is to be worked on according to the school (the student's update each other at night, even if they are not necessarily friends). If your child was successful in elementary school, they will grow here & be offered "serious opportunities" to succeed in college. These student's are intelligent AND have social skills. It all starts in the home, you can't just falsify an address & expect success.

Francis Lewis High School 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a student
Francis Lewis is an amazing school. I am exceedingly proud of myself for doing so hard to get to this high school. The math and science program is extremely competitive but its definitely worth it! Many graduates of Francis Lewis have gone to amazing colleges!!! You have no idea how AMAZING this school is! If you have anything above 85 in math, science, ela, and social studies; your good to go!!! DEFINITELY GO TO FRANCIS LEWIS BECAUSE ITS THE RIGHT SCHOOL FOR YOU!!


Francis Lewis High School 4

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
I personally like the school program particularly science research program. Students learn a lot about science research. I lkie Dr. Blackwell very much for her encouragement to yhe students doing their resesrch. They read very nice science article and are uptodate with recent sciemtific research.

Francis Lewis High School 5

Posted June 28, 2013
- a student
Francis Lewis High School, is one of the best schools in new york. I am now a junior in franny and i love it, the teachers are great they really get to know there students as if they are there own children. Every one in this school from a older student or a teacher or guidance even the principle make sure you do your best. If a teacher sees you are slaking they will make sure they lend you a hand and asin you a tutor to make sure you can do the best you can. The teachers prepare you in life but not only showing you the path to greatness but preparing you for the regents. This is one school i wish everyone could go to. I will 100% miss Francis Lewis when i graduate in 2 years.

Nearby schools

Francis Lewis High School
58-20 Utopia Parkway, Queens, NY  11365
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 120 reviews. (718) 281-8200
Last modified Francis Lewis High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top