Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Queens, NY
Students enrolled: 1,574
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 60 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


69 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Is 238 Susan B Anthony 5

Posted October 18, 2014
- a community member
I'm now currently in 8th grade and so far this school has been great. I've been in top classes all 3 years. There is now a new schedule change. In my opinion not the best idea. However it has great classes and good teachers I'm currently in Algebra 1 and Earth science which are 9th grade level classes. All u have to do is work hard and stay focused and you'll be able to thrive.

Is 238 Susan B Anthony 5

Posted September 11, 2014
- a community member
i went to susan b. there is nothing wrong with. it is perfect for young adolescents. i'd recommend it to anyone. i love it.


Is 238 Susan B Anthony 3

Posted December 29, 2013
- a community member
the activities are good but the only activity that isnt fair is project boost they expect you to be classy

Is 238 Susan B Anthony 5

Posted April 04, 2012
- a community member
I went to this school 10 years ago, and I graduated to go to Stuyvesant High School and now am in the Macaulay Honors Program at Hunter College. Please take advantage of the afterschool tutoring, it is worth the time and other students I have met have paid thousands of dollars for the same education.

Is 238 Susan B Anthony 5

Posted December 07, 2011
- a parent
This school is the gem of the district without the lotteries. If you have a great foundation from elementary, you will have a challenging curricula in some of the homerooms. There is alot of homework especially in Math and Science which is excellent and other subjects are not neglected. My child was able to qualify to take the Hunter HS test from this middle school. The afterschool program is extremely popular managed by a dedicated staff. There is an afterschool dance program taught by a leading area choreographer/performer/ teacher who has over 40yrs broad based exp. , martial arts, sports, band, state of the art media... A great PTA which is imperative. There is great leadership and motivated teachers...really. If you are on top of your kid's game they are there to push the child to the capacity that you support. I can't say that about other schools/teachers in the district. Other middle schools in the district can use this one as a benchmark.


Is 238 Susan B Anthony 5

Posted June 28, 2011
- a parent
This is my son second year, he wil be going into the 8th grade...He was trying slip and all the staff.. Dean, Vice Principle, teachers, all stepped in and took immediate action. The staff is caring and responsible. The Sports and Arts program is excellent, Director and Staff, are caring and no- non-sense and expect the Best from the children in the program. The program is enriching and offers the children as well as parents many activities, after school and trips! Free Camp, what a Great thing, in today's economic time. Makes our children become well rounded and responsible individuals for our society. The school culture demands the children meet their highest potential and to be responsible for their actions and school life. It is a safe, enriching, no -nonsense school. I had my reservations at first, but there are no more.

Is 238 Susan B Anthony 3

Posted June 27, 2011
- a community member
going to this school scared and excited.................i heard that it was a bad school in terms of behavior any advice?

Is 238 Susan B Anthony 1

Posted May 28, 2010
- a parent
The school doesn't know how to handle the problems in this school, they just let it slide by.


Is 238 Susan B Anthony 0
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
Mr Gates, the principal has been a real asset to the school. He is a hands-on individual as he should be, the students know that he is about the busness of education and wil enforce it when necessary. The Sports & Arts Program had given my daughter may opportunities to become invovled in different activities with the emphasis on academics as criteria for participation.

Is 238 Susan B Anthony 5

Posted February 10, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Is 238 Susan B Anthony
88-15 182nd Place, Queens, NY  11423
(718) 297-9821
Last modified Is 238 Susan B Anthony is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Is 238 Susan B Anthony Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 69 reviews. Top