Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
43 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 59 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John Adams High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 03, 2016
- a student
No people be rude all the time. Looking to fight you for nothing. PBIS is a joke. The ambassadors are bad they not good people but they the role models.

John Adams High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 03, 2016
- a student
Teachers be nice if they like you. Every body always looking to fight you. Be cool with the teachers and they give you good grades.


John Adams High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 03, 2016
- a student
You don't do nothing in this school you can walk the halls don't get in trouble for nothing.

John Adams High School 5

Posted March 07, 2016
- a student
This school has a multitude of options to cater to each and every students personal interests there are many slc's to choose from and even more clubs and activities to participate in.

John Adams High School 2

Posted May 17, 2013
- a student
This school is horrible. Everyone is so judgmental and if you get hurt the teachers don't do anything about it. It smells like weed all over.. I'm going to Francis Lewis HS next year and i'm very happy.


John Adams High School 5

Posted February 24, 2011
- a student
I attended Adams all four years and i thought it was great. The teachers are extremely helpful with all student request. I was able to achieve a lot and excel. My grades were always 85-95. Students complained about some of the teachers who were a tad bit harsh, but they really helped in the ,long run. I am so thankful that those teachers really pushed me to do better and become more independent. One of my teachers who really influenced me used to give us a dictionary when we asked how to spell a word instead of just telling us, he wanted us to take advantage of the great things we had around us. John Adams really helped me become mentally ready for the future. They helped me grow and become more mature and independent. I am so grateful to have attended John Adams, they're an amazing school.

John Adams High School
no rating

Posted November 04, 2010
- a teacher
The diverse population encourages the students to accept each other more naturally. The cultural differences allow students individual acceptance from each other without conflict, in most circumstances. John Adams High School also offers students a larger variety of teams and clubs, some of which are new and original. From the many team sports such as swimming, track, basketball, football, soccer, and volleyball among others, to the many clubs such as drama, art, the band, the yearbook and newspaper to the many organized activities, including the multicultural events, school dances, shows and one of the newest, our very own cheerleaders! John Adams offers both academics and extracurricular enthusiasm to its students, throughout the school year!

John Adams High School
no rating

Posted April 08, 2010
- a parent
I beleive that the teachers in this Adams really care about their students. They are dedicated and make the effort to help their students succeed. The problem is that there are many students, as well as their parents who don't take the time or make the effort to succeed in school. I order for student to achieve in school they have to their work, study and if they need the help ask for it. The teachers are ready to help them.


John Adams High School
no rating

Posted April 04, 2010
- a student
very good the school is not bad its the content in the school the students must try harder

John Adams High School
no rating

Posted April 04, 2010
- a community member
I am so sick of hearing that the teachers, administration and staff aren't doing enough. It's time parents take responsibility for their kids. There is only so much they can do. Some parents wait until their kid is 18 before they question why they only have 20 credits. Parents, start taking interest in your kids education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John Adams High School
101-01 Rockaway Boulevard, Queens, NY  11417
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. (718) 322-0500
Last modified John Adams High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top