Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 37 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


42 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 11 Kathryn Phelan 5

Posted November 14, 2014
- a parent
My son is in second grade, his teachers are amazing, great teacher. My son needs to improve reading skills, they are patience and guide him well. The new principle is working hard, the office stuffs are great. But only security system is weak.
1 person found this helpful

Ps 11 Kathryn Phelan 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
It's a great school. Teachers are very helpful. Best elementary school in the neighborhood. I highly recommend this school.


Ps 11 Kathryn Phelan 5

Posted March 23, 2014
- a parent
Let me tell you something , my son was studied in 153 maspeth school that staff's school they were so mean never paid attention to his schools problems not therapies not nothing, but when I moved my kid to ps 11 the principal and their staff care him rigth away with therapies, today my son is developing so fast. Thanks God first and ps 11.

Ps 11 Kathryn Phelan 5

Posted March 22, 2014
- a parent
Here I went through some comments and found that some parents are upset about principal. But I didn't find any negative things about child education in this school. My child also goes to this school and happy to be part of it. Teachers are great and they are very helpful. Thank you ps11.

Ps 11 Kathryn Phelan 1

Posted February 25, 2014
- a parent
When there is no good feed back postings from the Parent body, some teachers coming forward to give 5*. It is pathetic. When a genuine feed back is given by somebody, it is deleted in no time! The school administration is VERY BAD and their approach to problem solving by the principal is notorious. No problem from parents is solved in this School. Either shut up or put up if opening mouth against the Principal - totally authoritarian attitude! Regarding the school environment, bullying has priority not only from some students also from some teachers and principal taking numero uno position! If you want spoil the future of your kid, yes, this is the school to go! There is no priority for learning activities. For every simple reasons, the school is closed! If you want to prepare your child for City test, then better arrange private tuitions! Students go to this school to make attendance - a requirement for the city! Some students go only for fun! There are meetings of all kinds for all things but no voice for parents! No student can talk! You can also see Principal's entire family among the staff! You really can win!!!


Ps 11 Kathryn Phelan 1

Posted February 12, 2014
- a parent
PS-11 has the Principal and many of her family members as staff making it a family run business! Principal never listens to people with concerns! Principal targets students whose parents are not "yes mam" parents! No vacancy to outside world most of the time! All discriminatory practices are in place! There are many factual stories about security breaches in the school! Some children are targeted if their parents raise some genuine concerns! However, some teachers are good!School is NOT recommended to any new student!

Ps 11 Kathryn Phelan 1

Posted November 14, 2013
- a parent
Parents who are considering PS 11 for next year need to know a few things: Mistrust of parents and students is assumed before trust. I have witnessed teachers and administrators screaming at parents for not following a certain rule. No note sent home kindly asking- which would have been the respectful thing to do- just screaming in front of the school at pick up . The behavior code is very rigid. A student is expected to sit straight, eyes on teacher and not lift a finger while the teacher is lecturing. Teaching a child to be obedient is second to actual academic learning. Despite what they say, this school employs a very teacher centered approach. The teacher is the final word and generally a student's opinion will not be given consideration. Any creativity or analytical thinking a student has the potential of developing will be stifled. Phonics is barely taught in their reading program. If you have a child in need of a rigid and behavior controlled academic program- then PS 11 is for you. If you have a bright, eager to learn, well behaved child- please reconsider sending him/her to this school.
1 person found this helpful

Ps 11 Kathryn Phelan 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a teacher
My school is an excellent, supportive and safe community that cares about all its members.


Ps 11 Kathryn Phelan 5

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is now in 5Th grade. She is in honor class. She was also in honor class last year in 4th grade. I can say as I observe her when shes doing her homeworks that my daughter's teachers are very very good. ... Very effective teachers.. And im so thankful of that... Thank you PS 11 Woodside Queens.

Ps 11 Kathryn Phelan 5

Posted September 27, 2013
- a teacher
The school is a wonderful caring community that see children as children and not a number. THey try to educate the whole child ensuring that they are in a safe, plesant environment with adults that truly care for them.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 11 Kathryn Phelan
54-25 Skillman Avenue, Queens, NY  11377
(718) 779-2090
Last modified Ps 11 Kathryn Phelan is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 11 Kathryn Phelan Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top