Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 17 Henry David Thoreau
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
I would like to thank the parent coordinator. She makes us feel welcome every time we come to the school, does lots of workshops even a walk to the park which is nice. You can tell she loves her job and enjoys doing it. Thank you for everything you do for us and our children!

Ps 17 Henry David Thoreau
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Thank you so much to the inspirational Second Grade Dual Language teacher at PS 17. Your hard work provides a great foundation in Spanish and English to a very outspoken group of children. My child has learned so much from you. Your patience and tenacity are appreciated.


Ps 17 Henry David Thoreau 5

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
PS 17 is a warm, caring and diverse community school where the teachers, asst. principals and principal know all of the children's names and strive to address each child's needs. The many programs at this school include dual language, music, theater class, art... The school is well maintained, clean and always welcoming. Activities for children and parents are coordinated by a hardworking and friendly parent coordinator and PTA and include Fall Festival, Culture Day, Spelling Bee, Science Fair and many more. Most importantly my child is happy and thriving at PS 17.

Ps 17 Henry David Thoreau 5

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
My daughter loves her school, the Principal, teachers, Parent's coordinator, are very supportive and provide the kids with a warm and friendly environment, but at the same time they learn discipline and respect. They have good programs such as the Dual language and Girl Scouts.

Ps 17 Henry David Thoreau 5

Posted June 07, 2015
- a parent
The school have improved so much in the last year. Many activities, programs and projects with the children. Dual Language Program is a great way to teach our children Spanish and English at the same academic level, giving the students an opportunity to be not only bilingual but biliterate and bicultural. Principal very friendly and caring about parent's opinions and always looking for new ways to help the students.


Ps 17 Henry David Thoreau 4

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
The School is clean and friendly, the teacher of my son is good teacher(Ms. Antonio). The new Principal is doing a good Job. They do a lot of activities with the parents. They have me inform of everything

Ps 17 Henry David Thoreau 5

Posted April 22, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful people, great teacher!! so happy my princess go to this school. Dual Language Program is excellent and provides so much confident to the kids knowing Spanish and English at the same level. Way to go!!

Ps 17 Henry David Thoreau 5

Posted March 31, 2014
- a parent
esta escuela le ha dado una oportunidad de aprendisaje a mi hija ahora tienen un programa piloto de ensenar espanol alos ninos que sus padre esten de acuerdo con el mismo definitivamente la escuela esta superandose bastante solo nesecitamos que los padres esten mas enbolucrado en este y todos los proyecto venidero gracias.


Ps 17 Henry David Thoreau 4

Posted October 20, 2013
- a community member
Im a former student from 2005-2010 I'm in high-school now and have a bright future. All the teachers are understanding and supportive . All my friends went to this school here. And I've met some amazing and inspiring people here as well. Though some kids aren't as respectful towers others we still get along. This school only needs one improvment not kids and more classrooms to ensure more healthier and brighter kids.

Ps 17 Henry David Thoreau 3

Posted June 03, 2013
- a parent
My family have been in this school for 3 years. We were hoping the new principal would bring positive change. I agree with others that the environment is more welcoming to discussions. But bullying is a problem. My son is constantly bullied and I have talked to many adults in the school about it. But I dont think the kids are punished because it is still happening and now he doesn't want to go to school. He cries at night when he comes home. School should be a happy place, not a place you don't want to go to.

Nearby schools

Ps 17 Henry David Thoreau
28-37 29th Street, Queens, NY  11102
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. (718) 278-1220
Last modified Ps 17 Henry David Thoreau is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top