Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Queens, NY
Students enrolled: 503
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 48 William Wordsworth
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
There can be improvements that are limited by large classes and a mixed variety of student abilities, and backgrounds. However the teachers try and find innovative ways to constantly improve.

Ps 48 William Wordsworth
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
It encourages rigor and mastery. It helps the students develop time management. As the principal states, school is their job and they are receiving training for adult years.


Ps 48 William Wordsworth
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
Some students struggle but the school does not turn its back on them or leave them behind.

Ps 48 William Wordsworth
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
Leadership is showing example from the top! the principal Pat Mitchell treats the students with the respect and it sets the tone for the rest of the school.

Ps 48 William Wordsworth
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
There is a spirit of ownership and empowerment leading to looking out for each other.


Ps 48 William Wordsworth
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
The students are made to feel special, a part, and individuals. This helps in trust and honesty.

Ps 48 William Wordsworth 4

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
My kids transferred into the school and my decision was partly made based on the atmosphere and cohesive environment I observed between administration, staff and students. There are many students needing a variety of special services, but the school treats each scholar as an individual and aims to have college ready with a rounded academic and non academic education! Academics overall can be stronger but it there seems to be many gains over the last few years!

Ps 48 William Wordsworth 3

Posted March 10, 2014
- a community member
My school if full of interesting yet hardworking teachers such as Ms.Whichard, ms.Murphy, Ms.Mitchell,Ericco,Chan and many more


Ps 48 William Wordsworth 3

Posted March 09, 2014
- a parent
The school environment is o.k.The principal Ms. Mitchell is wonderful, however some of the teachers don't care about the students performance,two teachers I would like to give some credit to; Ms.Beswick , Dr Dipalo. My son also complains of teachers yelling at him,My son often comes home with unmarked home work. My main concern is the performance of the students; it deteriorates every year; why is that . The schools in the better neighborhoods are doing great and ours is not why is that? Ms Beswick again hats off to you, you are humble caring and concerned, thanks for being my son's teacher for a year.

Ps 48 William Wordsworth 5

Posted October 15, 2013
- a parent
This school is AWESOME. The principal Ms. Mitchell communicates with parents and has an energetic attitude. The assistant principal is cool and she is always helping out, she does not look so friendly but she is when you talk to her. Ms. Thacker is very expressive and loud and she gets the job done. She is trying her best to get parents involved in activities throughout the school. Ms. McPherson is new and at 1st she seemed overwhelmed but now she definitely has it together and she talks to children instead of yelling at them or their parents. There is one Kindergarten teacher who seems to have her children in control but she has control because she yells at the students and their parents constantly. That is not acceptable, I do not have her as a teacher for my child but she yells loud and discusses concerns for the child loud in front of other parents. Many of the parent's do not speak English well and need things broken down to them so they can understand and help their children. The security guards, administration staff, and Ms. Richardson are all good at their jobs. I would HIGHLY recommend this school to anyone.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 48 William Wordsworth
108-29 155th Street, Queens, NY  11433
(718) 739-4463
Last modified Ps 48 William Wordsworth is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 48 William Wordsworth Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top