Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 48 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 63 Old South 5

Posted January 01, 2016
- a parent
My 5th and 1st grade kids go to this school am very happy this is the school for our zone 11416, education curriculum is excellent teachers are great and my kids are happy.

Ps 63 Old South
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 01, 2016
- a parent
my kids get twice as much home work than other zone school such as ps64 joseph addabo and i am ok with it my kids are learning more


Ps 63 Old South 1

Posted December 13, 2014
- a parent
I recently transfered my daughter to P. 63 since we just moved to the area and I couldn't have made a greater mistake. School has very unwelcome environment. Principal (Ms. Marion) and all the staff in register office don't even make a slight effort to listen to the parents. You will be rudely dismissed if you try to make an inquiry about school policies. If you question them...well, nobody really cares unless you call NY City Department of education. Kids are basically allowed to bully each other and there is no investigation by school if bullying occurs! PTA are extremely rude and rather than listen to your concern will tell you how they volunteer here and don't get paid for this! There are a lot of teacher substitutes happenning and teachers don't seem to care much since they are in the class for one week only and next week they will be teaching a different class. So if you do care about your child's education and want to be treated with respect as a parent, don't come even close to this school!!

Ps 63 Old South 2

Posted May 29, 2014
- a parent
I took my daughter out of this school after the 2012-2013 school year and placed her in a private school. That was the best decision I could have made to help further her education. PS63 is not bad, but they can definitely use some work.

Ps 63 Old South 4

Posted May 29, 2014
- a parent
So far this is a very good public schools. The teachers my daughter has have been very caring!


Ps 63 Old South 2

Posted May 28, 2014
- a parent
this school could use some work and maybe start some small groups. i can't wait to get out of this school

Ps 63 Old South 5

Posted October 06, 2013
- a parent
I absolutely love p.s.63 my daughter struggle in her school work she has come so far in her,learning process i love the teachers at p.s.63 they are absolutely dedicated to their students they have a good open communication with the parents the only thing that i am disappointed about p.s.63 is the two very dedicated security guards are no longer there my daughter is very upset and unhappy because she has known these two wonderful ladies since she started kingergarten she always greet.these two ladies with a smile and a hug her heart is broken please bring her favorite security guards back

Ps 63 Old South 3

Posted September 07, 2013
- a parent
The teachers are incredibly caring and encourage students however the principal is a bully who needs to be replaced.


Ps 63 Old South 5

Posted September 05, 2013
- a parent
My children just attended kindergarten and I must say that their teachers were excellent. Very happy with their growth and communication skills. They absolutely loved their teachers and I can see that their teachers genuinely cared about all of their students. I hope this year the teachers are just as wonderful. Their teachers were Ms. Peyton and Ms. Levy...thank you both so very much.

Ps 63 Old South 5

Posted September 03, 2013
- a community member
ps 63 q. Excellent school. Graduated in the 90s. Everyone is friendly as well as the community.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 63 Old South
90-15 Sutter Avenue, Queens, NY  11417
(718) 845-7560
Last modified Ps 63 Old South is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 63 Old South Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. Top