Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Queens, NY
Students enrolled: 852

4 stars
Based on 43 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


49 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Catherine And Count Basie Middle School 72 1

Posted March 04, 2014
- a community member
This school has a shoddy administration that does not handle issues professionally or in a timely manner. How can an ARTS school set such a terrible example for its students who themselves are supposed to be artists?? Better staff should be hired that are true, responsible adults and can offer our children real quality life models to follow.

Catherine And Count Basie Middle School 72 5

Posted June 06, 2012
- a parent
I am a student but I had to signup so I just put my self as a parent. I have been in MS 72 for three years, throughout the three years I was in YSL, known as GT a few years back. MS72 is a really good school, but it kind of depends on what academy you go to, I would pick ysl over the other academies considering how many fights they have up there and all the students walking around the hallways, not plesent at all. But in my time in ysl espicelly the 7th and 8th grade I was greatly cared for and given the individual attention that I needed and now three years later I am going to a great highschool, specilized highschool to be exact, the one in bronx (i didn't want to write the name of the school), the school also has a great regents program and all the teachers have only one goal, to make you successful. so if you area parent, take it from me (a good student) send your child to ms72, but as a parent make sure he is doinf his homework evry night and if you get complaines from a teacher please have a talk with your daughter or son. MS72 reallly doesn't need anymore troublemakers.


Catherine And Count Basie Middle School 72 0
no rating

Posted November 03, 2010
- a parent
great teachers ,school needs major renovation

Catherine And Count Basie Middle School 72 5

Posted August 28, 2010
- a parent
i love this school great educatrion its very nice no discrimintaion great teachers and activites

Catherine And Count Basie Middle School 72 5

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
my child attends this school I am so happy that I placed my child here they are professional & very concerned about the students education & in this day & time you're lucky when you find a school that has your childs best interest @ heart and for that I am truely greatiful.I commend the wonderful staff members @ ms72


Catherine And Count Basie Middle School 72 0
no rating

Posted February 25, 2010
- a student
I love my school and especially our funny ESL teacher Mr. Ramsbottom. Hes the best teacher I have ever met.

Catherine And Count Basie Middle School 72 4

Posted January 27, 2010
- a student
good school teacher are nice make sure we do what we have to do

Catherine And Count Basie Middle School 72 5

Posted December 02, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Catherine And Count Basie Middle School 72 5

Posted November 24, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Catherine And Count Basie Middle School 72 5

Posted September 08, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Catherine And Count Basie Middle School 72
133-25 Guy R Brewer Boulevard, Queens, NY  11434
(718) 723-6200
Last modified Catherine And Count Basie Middle School 72 is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Catherine And Count Basie Middle School 72 Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. Top