Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Queens, NY
Students enrolled: 1,026

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 81 Jean Paul Richter 5

Posted February 22, 2014
- a community member
Whenever I think about P.S 81, all I have are great memories. Although its a small school, I loved attending class everyday. I had the best teachers! Mr.Langseth was my teacher for first and second grade and Ms.Catalano for third, forth and fifth. Man, they made school amazing and I will never forget them. They hold a very special place in my heart. They were so amazing and made going to school feel like a second home. (Class of 05')

Ps 81 Jean Paul Richter 1

Posted June 21, 2013
- a parent
my child attended kindergarten in this school, the teacher was constantly shouting and screaming, i dont think environment is healthy for child's mental development, new principal is good and i am hoping things will change for good in future...


Ps 81 Jean Paul Richter 5

Posted December 16, 2012
- a community member
i went to this school i left in 4th grade and i have to say it was the best i love my 1st 2nd 3rd 4th teachers they were the best and the principle

Ps 81 Jean Paul Richter 5

Posted February 06, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ps 81 Jean Paul Richter 0
no rating

Posted October 02, 2009
- a parent
This school has a strong reading initiative and they are pushing the kids to excel However there are comunication gaps between parents and staff. The school is overcrowded and needs better teachers. They also fail to educate themselves about children with deadly allergies to peanut butter.


Ps 81 Jean Paul Richter 5

Posted October 01, 2008
- a parent
This school is definitely one of if not the best school in district 24. Administration are very dedicated to the teachers' needs so that they can provide the best materials for teaching. The teachers are extremely dedicated to bringing out the best in every child so that they perform to their best potential. Parent involvement is highly encouraged. I'm happy that my children attend this school.

Ps 81 Jean Paul Richter 0
no rating

Posted September 05, 2008
- a parent
This school is good if your involved with your childs teachers. My son who is now in the 3rd grade is happy but wants to learn more. He is a very smart child but gets sidetracked because the teachers have a mixture of students in the class. They tend to the children that have a harder time learning and the advanced students get bored. Since they know more they finish their work faster and just wait for the others. I wish is was like back in my day the students were classed by their knowledge and continued learning more.

Ps 81 Jean Paul Richter 4

Posted July 20, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Ps 81 Jean Paul Richter 0
no rating

Posted July 17, 2008
- a parent
PS 81 is a very good public school. The principal, Geneve Ventura and the assistant principals are hands on and are very involved with the teachers and students. The teachers are proactive for the most part and really know the goals needed for each of the children in their class. The school provides a safe environment as Officer K does not tolerate any nonsense and neither do the principals. My two daughters are going into their third year at this school and they have learned a lot and it has been a very positive experience. I would rate this school with at least 4 stars.

Ps 81 Jean Paul Richter 3

Posted February 17, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 81 Jean Paul Richter
559 Cypress Avenue, Queens, NY  11385
(718) 821-9800
Last modified Ps 81 Jean Paul Richter is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 81 Jean Paul Richter Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top