Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 94 David D Porter 2

Posted November 18, 2014
- a parent
This school is all about test scores, the kids have become numbers. Test prep has started in kindergarten and they are evaluating kids via a system that removes all the fun of learning. The class is crazy buzy with no down time. The children are also without a functioning smart board and our teachers are always running.

Ps 94 David D Porter 5

Posted June 13, 2014
- a teacher
The school is top rated. The only people who complain are the Parents on the PTA. With the unfortunate passing of Mrs B, those parents will have to just be treated like every other parent now. No more cooley kissing!


Ps 94 David D Porter 5

Posted June 13, 2014
- a parent
Love love the school from security to principal. ( it breaks my heart she just passed away)! My children are thriving in this school and have had one terrific teacher after the next! I would just caution the lunch lady ( Connie) can be a bit of a bully! Keep on top of your children when it comes to " Cafeteria Drama"'. Shes bullied quite a few children including mine and i had to deal with these issues on numerous occasions. Other than that, its an A+++ school.

Ps 94 David D Porter 2

Posted May 21, 2014
- a parent
The ESL population has exploded in the last 2 years.The construction on the school is also moving extremely slowly. Because of the issues with language the test scores have dropped. The school is over crowded and needs a good cleaning. The parents need to better control their children mostly the new students. Kindergarten isn't in the school but down the road at a Jewish center. The principal has used the gym for her wheelchair more then a few times.

Ps 94 David D Porter 5

Posted August 07, 2012
- a community member
My daughter moved to this elementary school district 11 years ago. I have seen the teachers in action and the parents who support the school in a variety of supportive activities. It is a tautological relationship. Parents who care about educational excellence for their children move here and keep up the high quality of learning by monitoring homework. The teachers are excellent and the principal is involved in all ares of the educational process.


Ps 94 David D Porter 5

Posted August 06, 2012
- a parent
You can't get a better principal, or more caring teachers that raise the bar in elementary education. take it from a new parent that is also a teacher for ten years. Whatever you child needs, he or she will receive it here in this wonderful school that puts students first.

Ps 94 David D Porter 5

Posted June 30, 2011
- a teacher
PS 94 Q is a great place to work. This is a very caring and warm school that offers many services to its students. Learning is fun and the teachers are amazing. Parents are very involved .

Ps 94 David D Porter 5

Posted March 11, 2011
- a parent
PS 94 is a wonderful little public school with a private school feel. The minute you walk through the doors you feel the warmth and everyone knows your name and child. Parents are always welcome and are encouraged to be part of their childs education. The principal Mrs. Barbeosch has an open door policy for both parents and kids. This is just a small piece of what sets the school apart from other public schools. The teachers and staff are the other component. Teachers make it a point to get to know your child and their strengths and weaknesses. A love of learning is fostered and encouraged. The majority of parents are involved. Parents are never penalized for not being involved. There are a large number of working parents who do not have the time to devote to the PTA but are still welcome in the school and are active in their childs education. You will also find the parents who are not happy with anything and look for problems because they are so bored. These are the same parents who will be the first to complain but do not want to contribute anything to help make a difference for their child or the school. I guess they are everywhere.I am very happy with PS 94 and so are my kids.


Ps 94 David D Porter 1

Posted January 29, 2011
- a parent
Such a sad sad school! Its who you know & believe me, if you don't know the right people or take much time from your busy work schedule to kiss a**, your child will suffer the consequenses. Mrs. Barbeosch is all about favoritism! She dotes over the participants of the PTA's children & the rest are at the bottom of the barrel! (A few teachers will do the same) but in all fairness MOST teachers are exc! Oh! And try to join the PTA......You will be treated like an outcast. I couldn't get my child out of there quick enough.

Ps 94 David D Porter 5

Posted October 26, 2010
- a parent
PS94 is tough, Mrs. Barbeosch is tough, and she stands up for her teachers. You're probably at this school because you wanted the best, and the best is tougher. I think you'll find if you attend PTSA meetings and get involved, your relationship with Mrs. Barbeosch can improve a lot.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 94 David D Porter
41-77 Little Neck Parkway, Queens, NY  11363
(718) 423-8491
Last modified Ps 94 David D Porter is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 94 David D Porter Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top