Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Queens, NY
Students enrolled: 397
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 94 David D Porter 2

Posted April 05, 2015
- a parent
Parents have expressed a range of concerns, including fears about increased focus on test preparation and evaluation methods.

Ps 94 David D Porter 1

Posted March 22, 2015
- a parent
After spending time here it's clear the teachers and parents are on opposite sides of the debate. Parents dislike the overloaded class sizes that makes it impossible to learn, the lack of supplies, constant complaints from the teachers, oversight issues, over testing and most importantly safety issues. For example my child has never taken any notes in class or been given a research project. I asked for a book title and was told my child should remember it from Monday (4 days before). I was not called by the nurse when another child hurt mine and left a black and blue on my child. The teachers spend way to much time talking and not enough time DOING. After reading the teachers comments below I wonder if these problems go unresolved because they just don't want to see the issues or is it because they don't care. Passing a state test isn't hard when education is practical and productive. Simply putting 25+ tired kids in front of readygen workbooks isn't going to get you far. Thankfully the school does have a few cool cluster teachers.


Ps 94 David D Porter 5

Posted March 13, 2015
- a teacher
As a teacher at P.S. 94 for many years, I can truthfully say it is a bright, warm, welcoming and clean environment both in the main building and in the kindergarten annex. Every staff member is concerned about the well-being of each child attending our school. The teachers work tirelessly to nurture and help the students grow socially, emotionally, and intellectually. Huge amounts of time and effort beyond the school day are spent creating lessons that are stimulating, engaging and fun for the students. Working toward high standards is our goal so that when they leave us to move on to middle school, the students are fully prepared to meet all the new demands in the next phase of their lives.

Ps 94 David D Porter 1

Posted March 11, 2015
- a parent
Another day another issue. Its really just a few days until report cards and I am already expecting a headache . Teachers here have no business being around kids. This school is filthy.

Ps 94 David D Porter 1

Posted March 03, 2015
- a community member
I am so tired of this school putting the teachers and budget before the children. We pay for everything but the kids get nothing.


Ps 94 David D Porter 1

Posted March 01, 2015
- a parent
It's quite upsetting knowing this school was once doing well. It's current state leaves much to be desired.

Ps 94 David D Porter 2

Posted November 18, 2014
- a parent
This school is all about test scores, the kids have become numbers. Test prep has started in kindergarten and they are evaluating kids via a system that removes all the fun of learning. The class is crazy buzy with no down time. The children are also without a functioning smart board and our teachers are always running.

Ps 94 David D Porter 2

Posted May 21, 2014
- a parent
The ESL population has exploded in the last 2 years.The construction on the school is also moving extremely slowly. Because of the issues with language the test scores have dropped. The school is over crowded and needs a good cleaning. The parents need to better control their children mostly the new students. Kindergarten isn't in the school but down the road at a Jewish center. The principal has used the gym for her wheelchair more then a few times.


Ps 94 David D Porter 5

Posted August 07, 2012
- a community member
My daughter moved to this elementary school district 11 years ago. I have seen the teachers in action and the parents who support the school in a variety of supportive activities. It is a tautological relationship. Parents who care about educational excellence for their children move here and keep up the high quality of learning by monitoring homework. The teachers are excellent and the principal is involved in all ares of the educational process.

Ps 94 David D Porter 5

Posted August 06, 2012
- a parent
You can't get a better principal, or more caring teachers that raise the bar in elementary education. take it from a new parent that is also a teacher for ten years. Whatever you child needs, he or she will receive it here in this wonderful school that puts students first.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 94 David D Porter
41-77 Little Neck Parkway, Queens, NY  11363
(718) 423-8491
Last modified Ps 94 David D Porter is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 94 David D Porter Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top