Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 43 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 94 David D Porter 3

Posted November 29, 2015
- a parent
I am upset to say the comments about having a computer teacher are wrong. We don't have a computer teacher at P.S. 94q . The music teacher was teaching computers last year but is now only teaching music. It's also important to note we do have a computer lab that some classes use for research. I would like to see priority given to important classes. Art and music are nice but tech is vital to children's education in the modern age.

Ps 94 David D Porter
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 29, 2015
- a parent
The children are given homework daily but it depends on what teacher you get some are better than others.


Ps 94 David D Porter
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted November 29, 2015
- a parent
This school does hold a few charity events like the math a thon and toy drive

Ps 94 David D Porter
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
Yes, my fellow parents whine and complain how much work there is and the kids don't put in the effort. The teachers expect a lot and it is up to the families to step up to the challenge

Ps 94 David D Porter
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
There are so many kids who do service in this school. They volunteer and do many charity works. Anyone who thinks otherwise must never go into this school.


Ps 94 David D Porter 5

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
All the comments are from one person and it seems this is personal which is a shame since if they were involved in schools they would know other schools in the ares and know: 1. There is only one computer teacher in EVERY school this size. 2. Most schools don't have an art teacher or a science teacher but this school does. 3. The school has the same class size as every other school in the district except for one which had 200 less students and no art or science teacher. 4. the test score have gone up with LESS test prep than when my older child was there. Most of us love the school and the school survey shows it. The teachers work hard and communicate fully with parents. It is up to us parents and our kids to follow though and work hard. Excuses are the not answer. This school is not perfect but it listens and cares about the students. The grades have gone up and the way things are happening I think it will continue to increase. I suggest people look to themselves first before blaming teachers and schools. Sometimes we need to realize our kids are not perfect and they need to do the work and take responsibility for their own grades and actions.

Ps 94 David D Porter
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
We need more teachers and smaller classes to supervise all the students and support the student's education

Ps 94 David D Porter
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
We need more teachers and staff to help all the students and support the student's education


Ps 94 David D Porter
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
We need more teachers to supervise all the students and support the student's education and aid in the learning

Ps 94 David D Porter
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
We need more teachers and staff to supervise all the students and support the student's education

Nearby schools

Ps 94 David D Porter
41-77 Little Neck Parkway, Queens, NY  11363
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. (718) 423-8491
Last modified Ps 94 David D Porter is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top