Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 102 Bayview 5

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
My son has been attending this school since Kindergarten and he is now in 5th grade. It is one of the best schools in Queens and under the leadership of Mr. Pisacano and his staff, it has excelled in many ways. My one, slightly negative comment is that classes are becoming larger and the child-to-teacher ratio becoming greater. I'm sure it's easier said then done, but having a teacher's aide along side the teacher would help. However, I look forward to seeing greater achievements for the school and it's school community under the new leadership of Principal Ko.

Ps 102 Bayview
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted September 17, 2015
- a community member
P.S 102 queens school office did not work properly. I am very disappointed with school office.


Ps 102 Bayview 2

Posted September 17, 2015
- a community member
Some people kids entered the school ,without living in school zone and my son can't enter. I registered for him since May 2015. The school office did not work properly and my son had to go another school p.s 58 queens.

Ps 102 Bayview 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
This school excels in providing academic excellence. I love this school. from their security systems, to their advanced attendance system to their exquisitely chosen academic programs and teachers.

Ps 102 Bayview 5

Posted May 22, 2013
- a community member
After reading the parent and students reviews of P. S. 102, I realize the names of the teachers and principal may have changed, but the essence of the school I attended, remains the same. I was a student at P. S. 102 from 1963-64 in Ms. Kalin's 5th period class. Even then, the school was a very warm and caring environment for everyone - especially a newly arrived immigrant as myself. Ms. Kalin was a no-nonsense school marm, who cared deeply about our education. My most memorable moment there occurred on November 22, 1963. I was in a hallway and saw one of the parents who helped in the office (Mrs. Bianchi) crying. I asked what was wrong and she told me the President had been shot. I was not sure what that meant right then. Going back to class, the principal came on the PA and made the same announcement, and then school was dismissed. We've never been the same since. As I close out my own 38-year career as a high school teacher, this school remains very much a cornerstone in my life.


Ps 102 Bayview 5

Posted January 30, 2013
- a parent
My son is graduating this year and while I am happy he is moving on to high school, I know he will be sad to leave PS 102. This is an excellent school with a great community. I commend all the staff and Mr. Pisacano, the principal, for making it a safe and nurturing environment for my son. Thank you very much and may you all be blessed always.

Ps 102 Bayview 5

Posted October 23, 2012
- a community member
I really love this school. I've been here since 4th grade and nonow i'm in the 7th grade. It's a really cool school and everyone is so nice. Mr.Mac is awesome!

Ps 102 Bayview 5

Posted June 27, 2012
- a parent
I wish to thank all of the teachers and staff of PS/IS 102 for helping make my son the person he is today. The caring and nurturing was above and beyond my expectations. I want to also congratulate the graduating class of 2012.


Ps 102 Bayview 5

Posted May 21, 2012
- a community member
I've just got to say that Ps/Is 102 is one of the best schools in New York. First of all, all of the teachers are great, and they actually know what they're doing. The principal actually builds relationships with the students. We have many activities. All in all, P.s/I.s 102Q is a very good school. I recommend parents to at least apply to this school.You won't be dissapointed.

Ps 102 Bayview 5

Posted May 12, 2011
- a community member
I go to school here. Overall i love this school, but sometimes i don't because of some people there. Mr. Gebhardt is my favorite teacher. MR>GEBHARDT ALL THE WAY!!!

Nearby schools

Ps 102 Bayview
55-24 Van Horn Street, Queens, NY  11373
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (718) 446-3308
Last modified Ps 102 Bayview is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top