Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public
Queens, NY
Students enrolled: 437

3 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 111 Jacob Blackwell 1

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
this school sucks whats wrong with u ppl i think the teachers are pretending to be parents giving good reviews my daughter attended this school for two years was the worse school ever they need to close it i beleive it is a school for teachers who are learning and have no clue and teachers who are out the door almost

Ps 111 Jacob Blackwell 1

Posted April 29, 2013
- a community member
I cannot believe the reviews below. These parents are obviously unaware of the school's test scores. They should be referred to school digger.com or "org", I'm not sure which. These scores are abysmal. I attended this school when it opened in 1949. I am now 72 years old. I remember the school very well. These test scores should not be tolerated. SOMETHING MUST BE DONE. IT IS SO UNFAIR TO THE CHILDREN.


Ps 111 Jacob Blackwell 0
no rating

Posted September 22, 2010
- a parent
P.S. 111 has made great progress sincemy niece began attending this school last year. The principal continues to look for new ways to improve the school and make it a safe enviornment for the children.

Ps 111 Jacob Blackwell 5

Posted September 20, 2010
- a parent
Great Principal, great teachers, great community support... Definitely a rising star! My daughter is in the 4th grade and has to pay the teacher monthly rent for her seat in class out of their play money salary, which they earn by successfully doing their job (classroom chores). They also pay fees for missing assignments, incomplete assignments, or not obeying the classroom rules. There are incentives for the students with the most earnings. I love it! My daughter refuses to lose any money and her goal is to make as much money as she can. This teacher is a genius! :-)

Ps 111 Jacob Blackwell 2

Posted January 21, 2010
- a parent
Needs improvement with the parents and faculty.


Ps 111 Jacob Blackwell 5

Posted May 28, 2007
- a parent
this is good school for the children because its like your children have a parent around all the time the teachers and the principle really love all the kids that go there and the staff is wonderful

Ps 111 Jacob Blackwell 1

Posted May 10, 2006
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Ps 111 Jacob Blackwell 3

Posted February 21, 2006
- a parent
This school has been ok for my kids. They came from private school it was a difficult transition for them, but the teachers there helped a lot.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 111 Jacob Blackwell
37-15 13th Street, Queens, NY  11101
(718) 786-2073
Last modified Ps 111 Jacob Blackwell is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 111 Jacob Blackwell Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top