Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Queens, NY
Students enrolled: 967
 

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

11 reviews of this school


Ps 120 2

Posted October 15, 2014
- a parent
My daughter transfered from another school due to my work. She's in first grade now, class size teacher/student ratio is: 1:32... one teacher has to take care of 32 students without an assistant, that means if the teacher talks to each student privately, that's 1 minute and 30 seconds til a period is over. :( secondly, taking kids to school in the morning and picking up kids after school is a nightmare. Kids get to squeeze in front of the main entrance while some parents watching their kids going into the school. Come on, can we all line up? Picking up students happens in the back of the school (the Playground), Rainy days? kids have to wait in the rain to be picked up? Otherwise, staying inside that little hallway and pin-point who's-who? And the Afterschool YMCA program....don't want to talk about it...Let other parents get some commends on that one!!

Ps 120 1

Posted April 30, 2014
- a community member
This school has changed over the years. The staff isn't very welcoming. Also my daughter did not have a good experience. I do not recommend this school.


Ps 120 3

Posted February 08, 2014
- a parent
Great teachers! My child loved every teacher that they had from 2007-2012. There are so many new teachers now. Most of the good teachers left because of the principal. Very, very bad principal.

Ps 120 5

Posted October 11, 2013
- a community member
P.s 120q is a very fun place.It's alive,the teachers there make you feel SOOO welcomed,and the teachers r also so kind and fun. They're amazing ppl. Everybody there does the best they can. You shouldnt look down on ps 120 cuz that place is jsut amazing C:

Ps 120 5

Posted December 06, 2012
- a community member
I am in fifth grade this year and it has been the best elementary career I think I will ever get


Ps 120 1

Posted December 01, 2011
- a parent
My eldest daughter when to this school since 2008 in prek and it was the best years until 2009 in kindergarten since that times but now is the new principal and i really can`t stand it at all. I find out in year 2010 until this year 2011 is really bad.Some nice teachers gone and retire.I`m really upset!

Ps 120 5

Posted June 25, 2011
- a parent
This school is more than a regular elementary school. Excellent teachers and staff. I can't say anything good about the principals secretaries besides the fact that they are extremely rude. The teachers really do prepare your kids for JHS.

Ps 120 5

Posted March 26, 2011
- a community member
Went here in 1999-2001. I thought it was a pretty good school. The teachers were pretty awesome and good when I went there. I know the science teacher who rolled her trolley into our class every now and then was really good. Does miss Blouse, Mrs. Silberman or mr Q still teach here?


Ps 120 5

Posted April 01, 2009
- a parent
My Daughter is in this school right from Kinder garden and this is the best place she could be. The teachers are so loving and caring including the principal as well.

Ps 120 2

Posted April 20, 2007
- a parent
When my eldest daughter went to this school it was wonderful. All of the teachers were marvelous and checked her homework and classwork on a daily basis. They corrected every little mistake and helped her become an excellent writer. They built up her vocabulary by giving 20 words every week and a test at the end. I sent my other two daughters thinking that they would receive the same education that my eldest daughter received. However, this did not happen. All of the skilled teachers retired and now the teachers are not as great. Now there is a new principle. It is her first year so I cannot say much about her. This year was a bad year academically but we can only pray for the best.The principle should become strict and observe classroom routines. That is the only way we will get back the Golden Days of P.S. 120.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 120
58-1 136th Street, Queens, NY  11355
(718) 359-3390
Last modified Ps 120 is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 120 Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top