Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 123 4

Posted May 16, 2014
- a parent
This has made a great turn around since the new Principal Mr. Hooks came in. He is working on improving the standards of this schools and it shows. He has implemented a lot of new incentives for the students to work hard and achieve great grades and I'm happy about that. Some of the teachers still have to work on their attidude towards the students and stop treating them like a bunch of inner city kids that can't learn. If you work hard with the kids they will work hard too.

Ps 123 4

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
Very good school high standard of class work. The principal is doing a great job.


Ps 123 4

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
There is a strong commitment from the new Principal Mr. Hooks, and the school is making many positive changes.

Ps 123 5

Posted December 22, 2012
- a community member
I am a graduate of this school, 1956 to 1963. ( or there abouts). Mrs. Hersh was my kindergarten teacher, Loved Her. Gave Mrs. Foul a hard time (4th grade) They did the best they could with me. Smart but Disobedient, Oh Well. I pray for all the workers and for the success of their efforts. It Ain't Easy. GOD BLESS ALL

Ps 123 4

Posted September 03, 2012
- a parent
I wish there were more afterschool programs avaiable to the kids there. Getting out at 2 pm in the afternoon is a struggle for everyday working parents.


Ps 123 5

Posted May 02, 2012
- a parent
I dearly love this school and my daughter as well. When she came last September 2011 she had a lot of educational issues which stemed from the previous school. The teachers saw this and diligently made it their job to help my daughter to do better. I am proud to say my daughter was student of the month this past March. She also brought home several perfect attendence certificates. She is shining and so happy where she is at. From what I heard this school has improved from several years ago. Which is so obvious from these old and previous posts.

Ps 123 2

Posted June 03, 2010
- a parent
some teachers have no companssion for the children and their issues. Staff tell the students to talk to them ans report wrong doings,but when the child does so they get shut down and turned away. Confusing the children and they feel they cannot trust staff.

Ps 123
no rating

Posted January 22, 2010
- a parent
This is the # 1 school in my area , all teachers are very proffessional and teat my daughter like princess .I am so happy my daughter goes to this school .all teachers loves my maliha begum bless you all regards Mohamad Khan


Ps 123 4

Posted November 07, 2009
- a parent
This school is growing and changing. The principal has a strong personality which may be intimidating to some, but the students seem to respect her. She has done impressive work to get a beautiful new playground built, lap tops for each student in most of the classrooms, and smart boards in many classrooms. There are also 3D movie nights hosted in the school's auditorium every other month. Parent involvement is very low and the school and students suffer as a result. Most of the teachers show that they care very much about the students and about educating them. The other staff do seem to 'yell' an awful lot to get the kids to listen, but are working on making changes, such as playing music in the cafeteria during lunch. There is still work to be done at this school, but they are moving in the right direction.

Ps 123 2

Posted May 07, 2008
- a parent
I disagree. I think the teachers are excellent and they try their best. They are extremely challanged in that their principal is as the May 2nd post said is extremely arrogant, rude, VERY out of touch and difficult to speak to. When she is replaced I think that the school and it's current staff most of which are caring and loving people -will thrive and reach it's amazing potential. I support this school every step of the way.

Nearby schools

Ps 123
145-01 119th Avenue, Queens, NY  11436
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (718) 529-4300
Last modified Ps 123 is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top