Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 49 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 139 Rego Park 1

Posted June 28, 2016
- a community member
Stay away if you only could. Kindergarten is over and we are not coming back. Mean teachers who don't even try to hide if they don't like your child, a new principal who doesn't know what she is doing, poorly run after school program, old equipment and facilities and they don't even try to keep it clean etc etc. But an excellent parent committee and a parent coordinator who are trying to make it a pleasant experience for all.

Ps 139 Rego Park 2

Posted January 06, 2016
- a parent
The school is disorganized and lacking personal approach to students. I can't understand how it is graded 8 out of 10. They must only care about fulfilling the school curriculum and passing the tests. Not working for my kindergartener and we can't wait to transfer to a different school. Avoid if you can.


Ps 139 Rego Park 1

Posted November 08, 2015
- a parent
I went by the reviews and the grade the school got and felt very lucky to have the chance to put my daughter in this school. She was recommended by her IEP to be put in an ICT program,worse decision of my life. The two teachers my daughter got were the meanest people on the face of the earth. There was no access to your kids it felt like you were going into a prison. Like they were hiding something from you. I hated every second of the school year. I was so excited to leave that school and now my daughter is in a great school with an amazing and loving teacher.

Ps 139 Rego Park 4

Posted January 19, 2014
- a parent
If you child gets Ms Talish... you are a very lucky person. She is unique !! Ms Park not so much .... she cant wait to get out of school day, always in a running ...

Ps 139 Rego Park 5

Posted December 25, 2013
- a community member
P.S.139 is an amazing school. I used to go here, and I remember the faculty and staff was so nice to the students. Never have I pretended to be sick just to miss school, because I was so eager to learn! I miss this school so much. The PTO is also very active.


Ps 139 Rego Park 1

Posted December 22, 2013
- a parent
Barely no enrichment programs opened to all, bully teachers and principal, packed with unreasonable rules. Not to mention bathrooms and cafeteria stink.... This school needs a reform.

Ps 139 Rego Park 1

Posted November 12, 2013
- a parent
This school is horrendous. both of my kids are attending this school because i dont have anymore options, this is the only school near me. i dont see anything positive here, teachers, principal and the rest of the staff are only concerned with their paycheck. no one cares about kids and their education. the positive reviews on this website must be submitted my staff themselves, because all the parents i have talked to hate this school as much as i do. its a shame our children need to live through this for 6 years.

Ps 139 Rego Park 1

Posted March 27, 2013
- a community member
As a student at this school during the principal change, I agree that the school has definitely fallen quickly in academics. The school was great until the third grade. As a member of the kappa class, I can tell you that it is an absolute joke, and completely just for show to draw kids to the school. In reality, the students are not taught nor treated well. The kappa class is supposed to be a gold standard for the school, but the students are told that they are not any different than the rest of the student. In fact, there is a difference. If you are in the kappa class, you do projects that have nothing to do with academics, whereas in the other classes, you learn. If in fact you intend to send your child to this school, avoid the kappa class. However, I warn you that your child WILL NOT enjoy the school. Many teachers from the golden age of PS 139 are gone, and unfortunately the administration of the school is not looking to make the school better. Advice to a parent with a child at this school: I suggest that you take your child's learning into your own hands. My father did and I succeeded, despite the horrible experience at this school.


Ps 139 Rego Park 1

Posted February 18, 2013
- a parent
PS139Q is below average when it comes to academics. I agree with some of the comments here: the principal is only concerned about the funding. My son goes to the 'Kapa' program in the school, which is a special class whereby the admittance into the program was recommended by the teacher. So they put their best students together in one class, then the teacher took a month off at the end of last year for 'sick leave' and my son had a whole month of subs with barely any homework. After the teacher came back in Jan, she then took more time off during the day for training. I'm sure the test score for this class will still be above average, but it's certainly not because of the quality of the teachers. If you have kids are that smart and wanted to learn, send him/her to a private school.

Ps 139 Rego Park 5

Posted February 16, 2013
- a parent
I am the parent of two students that attend P.S.139Q. This school receives my highest recommendation and I'll tell you why. All of the teachers at this school are teaching and all students are learning. The principle is completely in charge of everything that happens in the facilely and is a wonderful leader. The thing I like most about her as a leader is that she does not appear to have befriended the teachers and staff under her command. On the contrary, they are her employees and she treats everyone with respect while keeping in mind a job at hand that need to be achieved. That job is teaching the students at P.S.139Q and preparing them for their academic future. If you are thinking to move into the area you have hit the jackpot with P.S.139Q.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 139 Rego Park
93-06 63rd Drive, Queens, NY  11374
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. (718) 459-1044
Last modified Ps 139 Rego Park is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top