Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
43 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 63 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 144 Col Jeromus Remsen
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
Mr. Ryan Ferro is the best Pre-K teacher you can ask for. I am so grateful that he is so patient, understanding and FUN with the kids. Most of the kids in class regard him as Best Friend! My child also asks me "what animal starts with the letter "Ggggg...and many more. He learned so much from this very special teacher. A big thank you to him.

Ps 144 Col Jeromus Remsen
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Our Principal raises the bar... She is engaged, passionate, available, professional and has a sense of humor. She is a true leader


Ps 144 Col Jeromus Remsen
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Thrre seems to be great transparency- financials are shared, leaders are humble, and students are given a fair chance.

Ps 144 Col Jeromus Remsen 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Out school makes use of all the resources available and advocates change. The PA is present and active and the community is involved!

Ps 144 Col Jeromus Remsen 4

Posted April 26, 2015
- a community member
I'm a grandmother who also send my 3 kids to this school and I still love the school is great and small so the kids can take care very good and the teachers are marvelous, right the way I like for my grandkids now. I really recommend this school PS144.


Ps 144 Col Jeromus Remsen 5

Posted April 15, 2015
- a parent
My 2 daughters attend PS 144. It's a wonderful place with the perfect mix of academics, fun, play, art. The teachers are so dedicated and wonderful, the principal is relentless in creating a happy environment, and it's such a great group of parents. My girls are challenged and supported in their quest to be great learners, not just good test takers. I even think the custodian, Mr. Eddie, helps make this the truly special school this is. I always feel heard and respected with my concerns. And the parent coordinator answers every silly question almost instantaneously. This is a great community, I could not be happier.

Ps 144 Col Jeromus Remsen 4

Posted December 07, 2014
- a parent
This is school is great in that it allows parents to participate and help out which benefits our children, and they have a strong PA community. The issue I have and other parents have is how the teachers grade the performance of the kids. It seems that after talking with many parents, the consensus seems to be that WE ARE CONFUSED as to how the kids are getting their grades? If a child takes an exam/exams in class and scores 99% or 100% consistently wouldn't this equal a 4 on the report card? I am hearing from parents that their kids are getting a score of 2 (failing) and 3 on the report card even though test scores are high? There should be a straight forward method to gage and accurately determine grades. Teachers - have a way to show parents how you came to give that child their grade.

Ps 144 Col Jeromus Remsen 5

Posted July 02, 2014
- a parent
I'm all for kids having fun, but in a school, I primarily want to make sure my child is learning well and establishing a good foundation for his future. so far, PS 144 has been amazing in that regard. the teachers and principal encourage parent participation and provide detailed feedback on my son's progress in class. They are always responsive to queries and guide me on areas that I can focus on at home to supplement his learnin in school. Other than reading, writing and math, they also have special science residencies, art, dance, and music lessons and also run a great after school program. The parents association is very involved and help out new parents with a strong support system. another great bonus is the great cultural diversity in the classroom here. In my son's class there are about 15 different countries represented and the parents are all involved in their childs education. In todays global times, I think these are the elements that prepare anyone for a strong future ahead, and I'm glad I gave up my son's G&T seat elsewhere to come to PS 144.


Ps 144 Col Jeromus Remsen 5

Posted May 14, 2014
- a parent
my older boy is in the G&T class since 3rd grade. he love it here. my younger son join the same program in first grade. Both of their teachers are great, warm, reachable (email are welcome by both teachers), giving them attention and support. but the best of all is The Principle - Ms Schneider is the greatest scholar you ever meet. She is involved with classes, school events, supports knowledge, friendship and challenge. Our parent - teacher coordinate ALWAYS gives you an answer within short time and ALWAYS helps us with anything. PS 144 needs every parent to be involved in fundraising, bake sales, trips...etc . We love PS 144. Keep the good work and math circle.

Ps 144 Col Jeromus Remsen 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
Is a great school, I recently moved to New York and enrolled my daughter in this school. The principal and teachers have advised me that my daughter is regularized. I have lots of support from the school regarding the integration

Nearby schools

Ps 144 Col Jeromus Remsen
93-02 69th Avenue, Queens, NY  11375
(718) 268-2775
Last modified Ps 144 Col Jeromus Remsen is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top