Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 149 Christa Mcauliffe
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
Everyone. I think the staff is great and my child has no complaints. Very helpful too.

Ps 149 Christa Mcauliffe
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
If your child doesn't behave well, care, or have empathy then sorry but its not the schools fault. There will always be good kids and bad kids. My daughter was once bullied. This happened a day after say no to bullying day. But some kids just don't care. The school took action right away. I appreciated that.


Ps 149 Christa Mcauliffe 5

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has been here since kindergarten and is now in 2nd grade. She will be in the dual language program until 5th grade. When she graduated kindergarten, she was already reading and writing in Spanish fluently. She came from semillitas pre-k speaking spanish thanks to the staff and this school helped her develop her spanish even more. Its amazing when she reads me a book in spanish. Its excellent for a child to learn another language. The teachers and staff are great and supportive. My daughter has never had anything bad to say about the staff.

Ps 149 Christa Mcauliffe 3

Posted April 06, 2015
- a community member
If you have a choice between this school and another i recommend no to go to this one! It will just make your child bad and this school is not clean at all!!!!

Ps 149 Christa Mcauliffe 4

Posted December 20, 2014
- a parent
This school is diverse- what makes the parent complaining below say that the Spanish speaking students in class with her child are all from Mexico? Why did the parent put her child in a dual language school - where the second language is Spanish if she didn't want her child to learn about the different Spanish Cultures? as well as the Spanish language? This neighborhood is largely Spanish Speaking along with many businesses in the neighborhood owned and run by Spanish Speaking people, and the people come from MANY MANY countries ......Bolivia, Ecuador, Dominican Republic, Columbia, Puerto Rico, Mexico etc... this is true diversity. I don't understand the complaint. Lice infestations are in most elementary schools at least once a year. -It has nothing to do with ethnicity or economic status. It is contagious but NOT HARMFUL and is easily cured... sorry I don't understand what children being of Mexican decent or a lice incidence has to do with her child's education.... The school has always been a very very good school it is rated A AND the teachers care about their students. The PTA is strong- use it to avoid frustration.


Ps 149 Christa Mcauliffe 4

Posted December 19, 2014
- a parent
The staff and the teachers are really dedicated, involved, and great. I wish there were more emphasis in art/music and sports, but academically I think the school is doing really well. My son has been attending since Kindergarten -he's in 2nd grade now, and my daughter is now in Kinder there too. As with any school, parent involvement is essential for a kid to succeed.

Ps 149 Christa Mcauliffe 5

Posted May 07, 2014
- a parent
Both of my kids are in Dual language 1st grade and 5th Grade, I cant tell you how great program and teacher. It has been a joy and pleasure to see my kids growing in a such amazing environment. The parent coordinator, Ms. Adriana is always on top of her game, first one to arrive and last one to leave the school and Ms. Salorio the principal will always keep her door open should you need to speak to her. What can I say more I love this school.

Ps 149 Christa Mcauliffe 5

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
P.S. 149 is a great school, Teachers are very helpful and hands-on with my daughter. Has a great DUAL program and i am very pleased with the school.


Ps 149 Christa Mcauliffe 5

Posted June 05, 2013
- a parent
my son is in last year school going on to six grade great job by all the teachers the only thing i didint like about the school was they didint have any sports that think is good the kids but everythin als was great my is going to miss it

Ps 149 Christa Mcauliffe 5

Posted January 26, 2012
- a parent
Our daughter is a Kindergarten student in the Dual Language Program at P.S. 149. We are very happy with the school's staff and academic program. Everyone works together and they are very open to parental involvement and input. Our child has thrived in this school! She attends gym on a weekly basis; it is only the middle of the year and she is almost at a first grade reading level. Her Kindergarten teachers (Ms. Congrains & Ms. Leino) have fostered a love of learning with high standards in a loving, kind and respectful setting. As parents, what more can we ask for? We are very grateful! Keep up the good work P.S. 149! Maria L. Paguaga

Nearby schools

Ps 149 Christa Mcauliffe
93-11 34th Avenue, Queens, NY  11372
(718) 898-3630
Last modified Ps 149 Christa Mcauliffe is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top