Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Queens, NY
Students enrolled: 656

3 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 154 5

Posted September 29, 2014
- a parent
Love this school; the principal and both assistant principal are AWESOME. They always there for the kids and looking for a better future. Parent must get involve in the daily learning of the kids and ask questions to the teacher. There is no STOP for us to go to the office an ask a simple question, where they can actually see we care for our children. The kids spent 60% of the time with us at home so please let help the staff so we can see more STARS. Love all the teacher specially, Ms. Herrera, MS. Cruz, Ms. Ortiz, after school also have a great impact in our kids where they can finish their H.W and study the areas where they need the most help. Waiting list is long but it s worth it!

Ps 154 3

Posted April 05, 2014
- a parent
Both my kids attended this school and we were pleasantly surprised...in the beginning. PS 154 has a wonderful early education program (pre-k) with teachers and teacher assistants who know how to teach and care for their students. This standard, however, slowly declines with each grade and yelling at the kids on megaphones and silent lunches increased. In the end, we pulled our kids out as they were beginning to dislike having to go to school. I give PS 154 3 stars for their pre-k program, for the supportive PTA they had at the time, and for the Principal's monthly meetings (which are super informative and a great forum to openly discuss issues). However, they need to find a better way to treat the students outside the classroom (cafeteria, auditorium) and a more consistent way to keep them engaged in the classroom. The office staff could also be more inviting and respectful to parents.


Ps 154 5

Posted April 04, 2014
- a parent
Three of my children have attended p.s.154 . I have nothing but great things to say. The teachers are very attentive the school environment is great what more could a parent ask for,

Ps 154 3

Posted February 18, 2011
- a parent
The teachers go out of their way to make sure the students are reaching and exceeding standards.They communicate with parents and make a mark in their students lives.As for the principal instead of creating events she needs to fix problems within the school such as her being compassionate and kid friendly and training lunch aides on how to speak and treat school aged children. The main office is unfriendly and uninviting. The open door policy is not true!

Ps 154 0
no rating

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
We have a fabulous principal who sets high standards and clear expectations for our students. There is a feeling of respect in the school and wonderful teachers who truly care about our children.


Ps 154 5

Posted February 10, 2010
- a parent
i really love this school it is very clean. my son attended another school and it wasnt ever as clean as ps 154. the classrooms are so beautiful and there are books everywhere. i wish there were more enrichment programs or an afterschool for children of working parents. the principal is adorable with the students. i am sure she knows everyones name.

Ps 154 4

Posted July 20, 2009
- a parent
My daughter was in PS 154 from K to Grade 2 so far. I must say that we are pretty happy with all teachers so far.

Ps 154 1

Posted July 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Ps 154 4

Posted June 19, 2009
- a parent
i think the school is warm and inviting. the principal holds a monthly coffee and breakfast meeting for parents. there was also a dance and singing books program for kids this year. the art is ok.

Ps 154 1

Posted May 14, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 154
75-02 162nd Street, Queens, NY  11366
(718) 591-1500
Last modified Ps 154 is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 154 Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top