Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
46 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 110 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Academy of American Studies 1

Posted October 04, 2015
- a community member
Poor excuse for a school. The staff is unorganized, there are unqualified teachers and only a handful of teachers are helpful. I spent two years here, and my sophomore year was just hell. My English class basically did nothing the entire year. The gym class is way too overcrowded. It is not a good environment if you actually want to learn and have a traditional high school experience. The ap classes are also very limited. You don't really have a variety of classes to choose from. I barely learned anything from my sophomore year classes. Some teachers are in for the job for the paycheck. I felt as if I wasted my time in this school. I could have done something better than sit around in gym class for an hour and twenty minutes. If you want to hang around LIC and don't really care about learning, then this is the perfect school for you.

Academy of American Studies 5

Posted February 13, 2014
- a community member
I was a student at the Academy of American studies until sophomore year.The school spirit is strong and also the school has so many events through the year. There are indeed some students which are trouble makers but all schools has its flaws. But mostly all of the students there are great. You can have more freedom to go around during study hall and grab a meal at the near grocery. The basketball team is great also the coach is a really nice person u will enjoy it


Academy of American Studies 2

Posted November 03, 2013
- a student
teachers are tough graders and bullying goes around a lot especially if your black . School is interested in sports having a lot of sports teams.There are a few trouble makers in the school and gossip gets around fast since theres not as many students.

Academy of American Studies 5

Posted October 06, 2013
- a student
It's a small school where everyone knows each other . Most of the teacher are really great such as Ms Jaffe, she's not a teacher only. The way she teaches you is just inspiring, she teaches about the meaning of life, the world, people. Mrs Greenspam she makes boring biology as interesting as a fiction book. Ms Toro, she is not only a teacher but she is your friend.It's really a great school.

Academy of American Studies 1

Posted August 24, 2013
- a community member
If I could give a 0 star rating, I would. This school has very unprofessional staff, almost no choices in elective classes, poor facilities, and is extremely overcrowded. They brag a good reputation for American history while neglecting science and math classes with very poor staff in those areas, no science labs, even some humanities teachers are not good. If you have an issue with a teacher mistreating you here- good luck. Because there is nobody to complain to either. Staff acts like this school is all that when it is not, going here robs a student of a high school experience and does NOT prepare them for college. Facilities are a nightmare and a fire hazard, classes are held in extremely cramped classrooms and during passing, hallways are a nightmare. This school brags maybe three teachers who actually know what they are doing and are qualified while the rest are rude, unprofessional, and inexperienced. There is a lot of favoritism that occurs in this school from multiple staff members amongst other unfair things. DO NOT go here, you will regret it! This school gets away with countless violations somehow, and it is at the expense of students. I am glad to have graduated.


Academy of American Studies
no rating

Posted October 31, 2010
- a parent
Language learners with a passion for learning languages and American History

Academy of American Studies 5

Posted November 02, 2009
- a student
Omg Academy is awesome the teachers are amazing and helpful, the trips are informative and fun and you really get an in depth view into history!

Academy of American Studies
no rating

Posted October 31, 2009
- a parent
Its an amazing school... amazing leadership, we all stick together! Teachers are our bestfriends. They dont give up on us. I love Academy of American Studies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Academy of American Studies
no rating

Posted October 12, 2009
- a parent
Academy has a small close school environment. Its like attending a surbanian high school in the city!

Academy of American Studies 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a student
this school is the best experiance ever. i learn so many things everyday about myself and others. the enviroment is great. everything about the school is a good influence on the students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Academy of American Studies
28-4 41st Avenue, Queens, NY  11101
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 110 reviews. (718) 361-8786
Last modified Academy of American Studies is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top