Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public
Queens, NY
Students enrolled: 502
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps Is 178 Holliswood 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
I have two daughters has been at PS 178 for 2 and 4 years. It is a small school where everyone knows her. I love that type of school setting, and I'm very happy we are at this school! Her teachers are extremely helpful and the principal and staff work greatly solid, and I really appreciate their tough and wonderful work. Submitted by a parent

Ps Is 178 Holliswood 5

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
My child has been at PS 178 for 4 years. It is a small school where everyone knows him. I love that type of school setting and am very happy we are at this school! His teachers are very helpful and the principal and staff work very hard.


Ps Is 178 Holliswood 4

Posted June 17, 2011
- a parent
I have two children at The Holliswood School. One is about to graduate and will be attending Xavier High School in NYC. I believe that my son received an excellent education during his years at The Holliswood School. There are many extra curricular programs for the children to join. My son participated in rugby since 6th grade and loves the sport. The principal is very helpful and ALWAYS makes herself available. She speaks to all of the parents and knows all of the kids. The school is very small and everyone knows one another.

Ps Is 178 Holliswood 5

Posted February 02, 2011
- a community member
I have been going to this school for 9 years! I absolutely love this school. Since we are a small school (compared to others) everybody knows everybody. The principal even knows every kid's name and says "Hi!" in the hallway. The art program is great, and the band is amazing. We have sports teams for a variety of sports, as well as acedmic teams that compete like the math team. The school has such a diverse group of kids, it's amazing! Everyone is so tolerable and open about their culture! The teachers are always open to students. (Especially in Middle School) You can tell your teachers anything. We're just one big family! Also, just last year, we became a "blue ribbon school"! No matter what you like to do, we have it. Recycling club? Of course! Math team! We've got it! Band? Sure! Art? Yup! Computers? Yes! Robot building? Of course! Penny Harvest? Yes! Drama club and acting? Yes we have it! If you're looking for the best school around, then go to PS/IS 178 "The Holliswood School" :D

Ps Is 178 Holliswood 5

Posted January 19, 2011
- a community member
I really think that 178 is one of best schools I have ever attended. The school makes you feel like you re at home. The teachers know you very well and the staff is overall incredible. There are Smart Boards in every room of the middle school classes and I realized some schools don t have the money to buy these high technological things. The homework amount is very decent, not too much, not too little and if you get lucky, some days you won t have homework at all. :D


Ps Is 178 Holliswood 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
Its a great school w/wonderful teachers!

Ps Is 178 Holliswood 5

Posted February 21, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ps Is 178 Holliswood 5

Posted December 09, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Ps Is 178 Holliswood 5

Posted June 24, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ps Is 178 Holliswood 5

Posted May 28, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps Is 178 Holliswood
189-10 Radnor Road, Queens, NY  11423
(718) 464-5763
Last modified Ps Is 178 Holliswood is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps Is 178 Holliswood Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top