Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Queens, NY
Students enrolled: 330

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 205 Alexander Graham Bell 5

Posted May 13, 2014
- a parent
We love our school ps205! All staffs, techers and principal are nice and friendly. They are all trying to create the safe-environment everyday. I don't hear any complains about bullying issues here at all. On the other hand, we all know, this winter was unusually cold and harsh. The parent coordinator Ms. Lilly was monitoring students at the entrance( outdoor LoL) of school building everyday. Begining of the year, my kids didn't realize who is REAL principal is.. Because she is super friendly with students in cafeteria during the lunch break.

Ps 205 Alexander Graham Bell 5

Posted May 02, 2014
- a parent
My child has been to a couple of elementary schools in the New York area. My husband and I decided to send our kid to PS205 because we could on many different occasions confirm the excellent reputation from many real parents. Since the NY state test has been becoming more demanding and necessitating our children to acquire deeper learning and test taking skills. Much of PS205 staff has extensive experience in training students academically. However, what makes the school standout is its commitment to well-rounded education for kid. The school s principal and teachers are deeply committed to the green cause. At the school, there is a nice greenhouse funded by Cornell University. It runs a recycling program together with The Queens Botanical Garden and NYU Environmental Education, Fundraising Water Pumps for Africa etc. All members of the PS205 community are very happy with the way children are encouraged and motivated not just academically but also social consciousness-wise.


Ps 205 Alexander Graham Bell 5

Posted March 28, 2014
- a parent
Absolutely wonderful school. The principal is enthusiastic about giving the children of her school the best learning experiences possible. She leads a staff of dedicated and caring teachers. I couldn't imagine a beget school for my daughter. We are so lucky to be zoned for the best school in District 26!

Ps 205 Alexander Graham Bell 5

Posted March 23, 2014
- a parent
I have my two kids going to this school, good teaching, good school staff, teachers and principal. pro-active parent coordinator. my children did not experience bullying or heard of.

Ps 205 Alexander Graham Bell 1

Posted February 03, 2014
- a parent
The principal needs to do something about the bullies in the school. Don't ever get involved with PTA women they are old gizers that think they work for the school and get paid. I can't believe how this school is with the Bullies unaware or they don't care? I think both !! We'll wake up people these kids are being bullied and treated unfair !! Some teachers are bullies also it's a nightmare ..!!! Go back grad school people !! You should teach if u have a passion not Bc you get summers off!!!! As far as the students go they really need to check them in moral n disrespectful human beings !!! The principle has her favorites n even has play dates with some moms n kids !!!! Where is the equality n justice for all that we so pledge every morning ???? The best teachers in this school is Mrs. Eisen n Miss, Castelli .A ....


Ps 205 Alexander Graham Bell 1

Posted February 22, 2013
- a parent
Definitely NOT one of the schools that make District #26 the best in the city. This school most likely brings the district's numbers down. Bad leadership from the top to the bottom throughout the school. Horrible attitudes abound. Very unfortunate. We are zoned for this school, we fought to get our kids out of there and into a much, much better school nearby.

Ps 205 Alexander Graham Bell 1

Posted September 18, 2012
- a parent
This school is so out of control with the clicks and the students are bullies because the principal allows them to do whatever the want . She is to. Caught up turning the other way ignoring all the school issues. The parents in the school yard with their bully kids are running ps 205.

Ps 205 Alexander Graham Bell 1

Posted September 17, 2012
- a community member
The truth is one of the worst schools I have seen the discrimination with races and disorganization in every sense; they never know anything and they allow to make parents to form cliques selected for participation in activities in which do not allow the inclusion of other parents . NOT RECOMMENDED :C


Ps 205 Alexander Graham Bell 5

Posted November 13, 2011
- a parent
I have two children in this school and so far I am very happy. It is an academically strong school with devoted teachers. Principal Scott is easy to talk to and committed to excellence. The only downside is that there is not a continuous art and music program.

Ps 205 Alexander Graham Bell 5

Posted March 25, 2011
- a teacher
PS 205 is one of the top schools in New York City and in District 26! Teachers are caring and do a wonderful job! Administration is also excellent! PS 205 aides are exceptional. Parents are very supportive! I am thankful for having such a wonderful group of children to teach in such a wonderful environment. The entire PS 205 community is terrific! It a pleasure to work at this school!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 205 Alexander Graham Bell
35-25 Bell Boulevard, Queens, NY  11361
(718) 464-5773
Last modified Ps 205 Alexander Graham Bell is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 205 Alexander Graham Bell Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top