Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-9
Public
Queens, NY
Students enrolled: 1,496
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 44 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


47 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Is 5 The Walter Crowley Intermediate School 5

Posted December 14, 2013
- a community member
This school is amazing. It fulfills your wishes. The teachers and adults here are amazing. This school not only offers you a great education but an awesome experience.

Is 5 The Walter Crowley Intermediate School 5

Posted October 01, 2012
- a community member
I started there as a 7th grade and now m in my senior year of high school and planning for my college...I.s. 5 was a great school..at first I didn't know how use computer or laptop n teenbiz3000 really helped me get it started... Miss this school a lot...class of 09(:


Is 5 The Walter Crowley Intermediate School 5

Posted August 25, 2012
- a community member
Not only is the staff there to help you whenever but you will meet the greatest people there. The friends you make there are hopefully forever cause they are the greatest, the teachers too from Mr.Miranda to Ms.Arce you'll never want to leave, last day is the saddest, but when you look back at the experience you'll want to relive it, the school is amazing, great curriculum and it helps you get ready for High School, I suggest that if you were to put your child into any Middle School it be this one, the environment is great, security is useful, they just finished up a new yard, don't hesitate for a second to send your kid here, this is the most amazing school I have ever attended and every single person you meet from your friends to the staff are the greatest people you will ever meet

Is 5 The Walter Crowley Intermediate School 5

Posted August 11, 2012
- a community member
do you have to wear uniform or is it optional,please anyone answer me, im going to this school and i really dont like uniform.

Is 5 The Walter Crowley Intermediate School 5

Posted January 29, 2012
- a community member
I.S 5 great school, the last time i been there was 9 year ago class of 03 they help me out a lot for i am grateful....


Is 5 The Walter Crowley Intermediate School 4

Posted March 31, 2011
- a parent
My kid started I.S. 5 as a 6th grader and now she is graduating G8. She got accepted to a specialized High School and some of her friends too. I thank the school for doing a great job to prepare them. I.S. 5 is safe and has strong academics and a lot of extra activities. Teachers are engaged and responsive. The staff is well-trained and parents are well-informed of what is going on. The kids do behave. One parent said her daughter did not like to go to the old school but now she loves to go to I.S.5. And they have to travel a bit to get there. Kudo to the principle, Mr Mike Daytona who started as a teacher, who runs the school hands-on. He has a vision and very resourceful. Every class has a smart board and laptops are all over the place. I particularly like the web-based programs for ELA and Math. TeenBiz 3000 is an amazing program for any kid becuase it lets them progress at their own pace. My daughter is reading at adult level. It prepares the kids for the state test by giving them non-fiction arcticles and activities. The only downsize is the school is big and the parents could be more engaging. I stronly recommend I.S.5.

Is 5 The Walter Crowley Intermediate School 5

Posted October 20, 2010
- a community member
If you're from 51st Avenue Academy and are transferring to this school, don't hesitate! It's a great school, with awesome teachers! Especially if you're in a honors class. You can talk easily with the teachers. Also, they're currently trying to build new sports stuff in the School Yard, which is cool. I hope they get it done before I leave this school! ): Class of 2011~

Is 5 The Walter Crowley Intermediate School 5

Posted March 30, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Is 5 The Walter Crowley Intermediate School 0
no rating

Posted March 30, 2010
- a community member
Greatestt School Ever Went there for three years! teachers couldnt be better.! LUV U MS GARCiA .. 814 Class of 2010 :'(

Is 5 The Walter Crowley Intermediate School 2

Posted January 31, 2010
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Is 5 The Walter Crowley Intermediate School
50-40 Jacobus Street, Queens, NY  11373
(718) 205-6788
Last modified Is 5 The Walter Crowley Intermediate School is a Public school that serves grades 6-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Is 5 The Walter Crowley Intermediate School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. Top