Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
90 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 157 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Townsend Harris High School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted May 18, 2016
- a community member
The students at Townsend were the best of the best from their prior schools, this makes them want to continue to be the best.

Townsend Harris High School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted May 18, 2016
- a community member
There are teachers that truly cared for the students and their well-beings. Those that do not are either on tenure or removed. However, many of the best teachers have been let go due to budgets or retirement.


Townsend Harris High School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted May 18, 2016
- a community member
The school pushes for these values, but the competition amongst students does make some students lose integrity.

Townsend Harris High School 4

Posted May 18, 2016
- a community member
The workload was challenging with very high standards. This would either push you to do and be better or break you. It is a great school academically.

Townsend Harris High School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
The Principal, Mr. Barbetta is always there if you need his assistance. Dafne Manhart, the parent coordinator is absolutely wonderful and always available to help and answer any questions you might have.


Townsend Harris High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
Some days I feel that it's way too much and teachers should coordinate when to give tests. Having to to homework AND study for 3 exams in one night is extremely overwhelming

Townsend Harris High School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
My daughter (a freshman) was a little nervous about attending this school but I must say, she is loving it. Yes, there are days that the homework is a bit much but she is handling it well. She made the JV Volleyball team and has joined a couple of clubs. It's definitely a well rounded school.

Townsend Harris High School 4

Posted February 08, 2015
- a community member
Honestly, while attending this school, I hated it with every fiber of my being; to this day, I can't say that the time I spent at THHS was great. This school caused me a lot of mental and physical anguish. Though, reflecting upon my high school years, I now see that Townsend really is out to do good and help students really get somewhere in life. Many people complain about the boot camp-like gym classes, but they train you to be very fit and healthy, which most other schools don't bother to accomplish. Also, THHS had such a caring and welcoming environment (concerning other students). Besides a few rare occurrences, I have never heard of bullying or fights. Everyone seemed to be, for the most part, one big family. While the teachers are a hit or miss, a lot of the good ones are exceptional. When this school says they're preparing you for college, they aren't kidding. After graduating, I can honestly say I'm glad I went to this school. Note to incoming or current students: yes, THHS may seem like an absolute horror, but do try to make the best of it. It's a great school for a reason; while they seem to care about their reputation A LOT, they do also have your future in mind.


Townsend Harris High School 5

Posted January 31, 2014
- a community member
I love it, the kindest people, the warmest teachers, the most caring APs and Principal. There's no bullying here and everyone strives to do their best and help their peers.

Townsend Harris High School 5

Posted July 26, 2012
- a community member
my dayghter score 677 ela and in math 735 her average gpa 93% what do u think will she get admission in townsend harris??? pls help me

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Townsend Harris High School
149-11 Melbourne Avenue, Queens, NY  11367
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 157 reviews. (718) 575-5580
Last modified Townsend Harris High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top