Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Kevin School

Private | PK-8 | 41 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Queens

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $550,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,580.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 20, 2014

I am so very happy with this school. Leaving public school last year with so much pain and disappointment, I didn't have much time to shop around for private schools so I just enrolled my kids in the one closest to my house. Thank the Lord I chose the right one or maybe HE led us there after so many days and nights of tear filled payers. Ms. D, our 3rd grade teacher is a perfect example of what a teacher should be. She is loving and caring and that is exactly what my very shy and sensitive child needed. My child became very lively, very talkative, smiling all the time and being playful. She also had major improvements academically, which I think the fun, loving and comfortable environment the class offered had a lot to do with. I could not be any more satisfied with the school. There are no words to describe how wonderful Ms. D is, and not only my child but I will also remember and keep in our hearts the most incredible teacher that we were so blessed to have met. My family thanks you Ms. D for a wonderful year, and God bless you and your family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2014

I am so impressed with St. Kevin Catholic Academy! My son transferred here from public school and the teachers have done everything to make the transition go smoothly. He is doing very well, and has made many new friends. The school has so much to offer: Music, Art, PhysEd, Library, Technology to name a few. The staff and administration are excellent and very enthusiastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2014

St. Kevin Catholic Academy is a terrific school! We are new to the school and the 4th Grade teacher is wonderful. She really teaches the children to be independent learners. The kids are learning to focus on the bigger picture, content and details. My child has improved one whole grade in math. The kids are friendly to newcomers, and the parents embraced us right away and we are Christian, but not Catholic. We don't feel excluded in any way. The orchestral music/strings program is excellent and my child is enjoying the violin. This school is truly a hidden gem!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2010

My daughter went to this school for PreK, K and first grade several years ago, she would've graduated from 8th grade in 2008-2009 term. I loved SKS for the first two years, even though they were not curriculum heavy, the kids had lots of activities and the teacher and helper were the best. My daughter and another child were the only ones who read on their K graduation, and it seems that another parent did not want my daughter to outshine hers and I am convinced this is why my daughter was changed classes in 1st grade along with the least smart students to a class with a teacher who had just graduated from college. She received straight As but no challenge. All because this parent probably contributed a lot of $$ to the school. I was GS leader as well so I was well involved. Thank you, Yolanda Rodriguez.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2008

I graduated from St. Kevin several years ago. I can honsetly say that I had a great experience there. The teacher/staff are phenomenal, as well as the students and families in the parish. I recieved a rich and well balanced education at SKS. I enthusiastically reccomend the school to any prospective parent who wishes to give their child a rewarding and memorable elementary school experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 18, 2007

Their religious doctrine is too strong. Not recommended for people with other religion than catholic. Teacher's capabilities and education are below average. Faculty and staff are not very professional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2007

I am a parent of 2 children and a former student. While I agree the school is one of the best in the area, certain things have not changed since I went there. My oldest is with the meanest group of children I have ever had the displeasure of knowing. We have stuck it out hoping things would improve, but they are cruel and nothing is done to improve this.Yes I have tried many different ways on my own and have been to the school. I no, longer want to hear that this is what kids are like, because it doesn't have to be. Kids need to be held accountable for their actions.We are actually considering moving because my child can no longer take it. Parents need to start paying attention to how their kids behave and how they treat other people instead of looking the other way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

For all the people that have all these negative things to say is rediculous kids are going to get bullied anywhere and unless you went there you cant make your opinion based on anything SKS prepares you for highschool better then any school in the area i graduated about 5 years ago and i can still say they prepared me well ... Although its tough it makes high school easy.. if you want easy and a melting pot go to public school i was a minority one of the only ones in the school and no one treated me bad because of it i think that is just plain rediculous this school is tough dont get me wrong but isent that why you send kids to school to be challenged and learn come on people dont be ignorant ... I agree that this school should get a Triple A Rating!!!!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 11, 2007

St. Kevin is an excellent place to have your child educated. The pastor and principal are on board to address parents concerns. I can understand some of the negative comments and can only say that no school is ideal. However, as someone who has chosen to stay and address the negatives, I belive that the school is getting stronger.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2006

In response to every single bad review of St. Kevin's this school is amazing..(enough said) I went there for 9 fun-filled years...and i can say from experience that the school and community is extremely welcoming. My fellow graduates and I love this school and wish we could be back there because of our experiences and how good our teachers were. Most of us are still friends as of today, and I'm a freshman in college... St. Kevin's is a school that gives u a great education and prepares your for High School extremely well (Thanks to the help of my teachers I personally received a Scholarship to Archbishop Molloy High School, and most of my class also received scholarships to various high schools) So for anyone that has a bad thing to say all I can say is sorry your experience was bad because St. Kevin's is amazing.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 2, 2005

St kevins is a fast paced school. They do not wait for anyone . If you need help go and get it yourself. There are mostly one class per grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2004

In response to the previous parents review, it certainly doesn't surprise me that events of that nature were occuring; unless you are of the Catholic faith or even 'Caucasian' for that matter the school's community is not actually quite welcoming to those whose demographics do not conform to their own. Quite a contradiction in terms when their school and their church speaks of 'humanity, compassion and human fraility' to others but that only applies if you are of 'their kind' and everyone else is to looked upon with bigotry and prejudice.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 14, 2004

Back in the 1980's, me, my husband and our son and daughter were one of the very few minority families that moved into the Flushing-Bayside area that Flushing-Bayside is demographically known as today. Though we recently arrived to America and our language ability was limited, we desperately wanted very much for our children to live the 'American Dream' in obtaining a quality education, so we enrolled our children @ St. Kevin's. Well after 4 turbulent years there and the agonizing plea to the deaf ears to teachers and administration in intervening; I decided to pull my children out of that school when hearing reports and seeing with my own eyes of my children being bullied by fellow classmates (and at times even shockingly heard from my children that it encouraged by parents of these students as well) of acts or racial and religious persecution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

Our Grand daughter attends this school and we are impressed with her learning. This school really gives a good education to its students. She also is involved with the school's extracurricular activities. We give Saint Kevin School a Trilpe A rating.


Posted August 10, 2003

St. Kevin is an excellent learning facility. There is so much to offer, in and out of the classroom. I have two daughters- one daughter who graduated with honors and a solid foundation that will have her prepared for the difficulties on the H.S. level. The other child is in the 6th grade. The extra-curricular sports and activities are wonderful experiences that will prepare them for the H.S. level. It also has given them both higher levels of confidence. Thank you, SKS
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 52%
Hispanic 22% 21%
Asian 12% N/A
Two or more races 5% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Black 0% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sue Ann Roye
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Brooklyn
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

45-50 195th Street
Queens, NY 11358
Phone: (718) 357-8110

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 162 John Golden
Bayside, NY


Ps 4
Flushing, NY



Ms 158 Marie Curie
Bayside, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT