Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Queens, NY
Students enrolled: 207

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Michael's School 5

Posted April 19, 2013
- a parent
MHRCA at St. Michael's is an excellent school, located in downtown Flushing. The principal was a teacher for many years and is the heart of the school, both academically and spiritually. The majority of teachers are NYS licensed. One teacher is specifically dedicated to working with teachers/students of all grade in differentiated instruction. MHRCA also partners with St. John's and Yale University. A Dual Lanugage program (TWIN-CS) will begin (1 of only 12 Catholic Schools across the nation selected).Daily breakfast is FREE and lunch is free/reduced (NYC). MHRCA has 2 computer labs and smartboards in all the classrooms. Catholic Schools are always seeking funds, however, the administration tries to keep things affordable. Early drop-off is "free" and the afterschool/hw help is inexpensive. The principal seeks programs/funding from all sources and is dedicated to all her students. In turn, many parents, teachers and community support in any way they can. A small school where the principal knows everyone and review performance weekly for ~200 students! The teachers are also dedicated to enhance learning, yet focus on the core curriculum. There's also a great summer program!

St Michael's School 3

Posted March 15, 2013
- a parent
Although a safe school with a structured curriculum most of the staff is great; however some of the teachers have to be a bit more compassionate towards certain children who learn at different paces. Children with slight learning disabilities are in the same class as others who excel at a more rapid pace. Some Teachers must understand their students needs and clearly differentiate direction given to the class as a whole. Clarity is most important to children when learning and i dont think all of the teachers understand that. However, most of the faculty and teachers are postivie and understand their students and strive to keep positive happy environments in their classrooms.


St Michael's School 5

Posted February 22, 2013
- a parent
MHRCA at St. Michael s is a excellent school parents come from as far as long island to bring students to this school. The students are extremely well behaved thanks to the Principal Mrs. Ragone and her Staff. Mrs. Ragone is dedicated to the school, staff, parents and most importantly the students. The school has a strong vocal parent teacher association the parents are very dedicated and are involved. The Saint Michaels site will be participating in the Two Way Immersion Network (a dual language program) in September 2013 it was chosen as one of the twelve Catholic schools in the country after having completing the application process to the National Catholic Educators Association and Boston College. It is the only Catholic school within New York State to receive acceptance to this program. The teachers of Saint Michaels work closely with Saint John s University. The school also offers Title One Services to the students and has a full service kitchen which offers the children Hot Lunch and Free Breakfast daily. The children are very happy with teachers & principal. The Parents, Principal and Teachers are committed to the school and welcome new students and their families.

St Michael's School 4

Posted March 28, 2010
- a parent
St. Michael's is a great Catholic school. A small school that could do better if it only had the funds and more involved parents. The enviroment is safe and everyone knows one another. The students are well behaved. Better than the public school kids in manners and attitude.

St Michael's School 5

Posted August 22, 2009
- a parent
This school has progressed very much, with my child's learning in 2nd grade. I'm very happy with my child at St. Michael's.


St Michael's School 5

Posted March 27, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

St Michael's School 5

Posted November 06, 2008
- a parent
This school has progressed very much, with my son's learning in pre-k. His teachers are great and amazing! He's learned so much and starting to communicate with his fellow classmates, he tells me how much he loves learning and most of all understanding the curriculum. I'm very grateful and happy with his progression!!

St Michael's School 5

Posted October 04, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


St Michael's School 0
no rating

Posted September 18, 2008
- a student
I am a former student at st.michaels and if you ask me, it is not on my list. The education is horrible, It doesnt offer anything but nothing and the tuiton you have to pay is bogus!!!!!!!! Not only that but there never any good trips that excite the students just bowling and the zoo. When people say that catholic education is the best, at st.michaels it surely isnt one bit. I am now attending a great public highschool and that is what you can call the best education.

St Michael's School 0
no rating

Posted January 27, 2008
- a parent
In my opinion St. Michaels is the best school ever. I am very pleased to have two of my children attending the school and with God's help I will have my third son attending starting September'08. As long as God will along me to. The teachers, the staff and epecially Mrs. Rogone. Couldn't ask for a better person to be in charge. I am very thankful for all my children have learned and have received from their education. Thanks.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Michael's School
136-58 41st Avenue, Queens, NY  11355
(718) 961-0246
Last modified St Michael's School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Michael's School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top