Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Francis Of Assisi School

Private | PK-8 | 311 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Queens

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $600,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,510.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 25, 2014

Saint Francis of Assisi is an amazing school and it's like family there. Our daughter attended prek there, and loved it. The teachers are wonderful and the principal is one of a kind. We are forever grateful to all the teachers there. It is the best school in Astoria by far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2014

St.Francis school has a warm, welcoming environment for students and staff. Everyone is very helpful and always puts the interest of the students first. It is truly a beautiful school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 20, 2013

This school is so wonderful that I moved my oldest daughter here mid year. The principle is amazing and the school is so progressive with their teaching strategies. Even though we came into the school in an unconventional way my child felt completely at ease. The sense of community is warm and inviting, I feel so lucky to have found St Francis and consider it a privileged to be a part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2012

This school is by no means the catholic school of "olden days". Education- wise, it is very much a progressive school; which aims at implementing strong values and ethics unto its students. It is a small school, with around 200-250 children per school year (not counting the pre-school and pre-k). The principal and staff are very friendly and are willing to cooperate to immediately to resolve any problems which may arise. The children are respectful and friendly, and this is a very important aspect of the education they receive at this school. The only concern is that there is a very strong parental influence which are separated into two types: progressive and aggresive parents. Progressive parents are concerned with helping the schools in ways which directly affect their children (volunteering, donating, etc). (Personally, I was part of creating new programs at the school) Aggressive parents feel that the school "owns" them in some way and that their children are to be treated differently from other children. Therefore, this creates a very negative environment in the first place and teachers are powerless to influence such parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2011

As a parent of two children in St. Francis of Assisi School, I was recently impressed with an activity that was shared in my daughter's first grade class. I thought it was absolutely fantastic to say the very least. The activity was called the "Crumpled Piece of Paper" and explained how harmful words and actions can make us all feel like a crumpled piece of paper sometimes. All the students in the class were asked to participate in the activity with their own piece of paper (which had a classmates name on it and which they then crumpled and ruined). The teacher continued to elaborate the fact that no matter how many times one can apologize for their actions in an effort to 'smoothe out the paper', it will never be the same, and that hurt can stay. What a wonderful way to try and teach a VERY important life lesson to 6 year olds! My daughter was enthralled with this activity and was able to verbalize to me the fact that she totally 'got' the intent of the lesson. It is my belief that the other parts of a child's education, are sometimes as worthy as 'reading, writing, and arithmetic'. It is important to learn to be a good person. I commend this teacher and applaud her effort.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

This is a very good school with dedicated teachers and a very involved principle. However, your child has to put up with alot of nonsence, mostly due to facebook harassment and in school bullying. In reference to the review of March 25,2011 ,there is no"IF" about it and it is "such a school" as the other review stated. When someone writes hate messages on your childs desk, then you can tell me "IF" and that I"m wrong. True, the principle does have an open door policy and will meet with you at any time.The entire staff are very professional and helpful.That is mostly why I keep my child there, to get a good education. I will not be chased away by bullies and deprive my child of a good education while the bully goes on to get a good education! No way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2011

I HATE THIS SCHOOL ! . honestly to me i felt like an outkast there were only four spanish girls in that whole school including me . everyone is rude the teachers think they can do whatever they want THEY CANT ! just because they didnt want to get a bachelors degree they had to become a catholic achool teacher . well yeah my opinion you might have a different one but i honestly dont care . so yea im glad im not in their anymore worst year of my life. you get no rate and plus you was always failing me like are you serious ? yeah i dislike it alot okay goodbye now !


Posted March 25, 2011

All I have to say about this school is that it's an EXCELLENT school where your child's education is first & foremost! Upon reading the past review, in particular, the one posted 3/11/11, I find it hard to believe that "IF" your child is being "harassed from day one, three years...." you would still keep your child in a school with that type of environment. St. Francis of Assisi is not such a school by far! Being in the school frequently, I personally see all the work the principal, teachers and staff do to give the children an exceptional learning environment. If you have any problems with the school, the principal has an open door policy where you can have a meeting with her at any time. St. Francis of Assisi is a school of academic excellence and where you can rest assure that your child is given an amazing education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2010

This is a wonderful school and I recommend it to any parent who wants their child educated in a safe, disciplined and spiritual environment. The teachers are caring and dedicated professionals who treat the children with respect and love. It is unfortunate that some families have had bad experiences, but most of the Saint Francis families have had many positive experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2010

I think that some of the children are outrageous and the principal have no control over them. The teachers could care less about the students. I would not reccomend it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2009

if your child is ever bullied at this school you better be prepared to move on....they really let so much poor behavior go unchecked...and some teachers are way to old and tired..and it shows in their nasty disposition..if a few retired and fresh blood was brought in it may have a chance
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2008

My son Had the worst time in this school my son loved going to school for all for his life but when we put him into this school he hated even thinking about the teachers are so inconsiderate and the principal should care more about the parents and kids about there needs this school needs to be overhauled
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

The school is beautifully kept on the outside and inside. My daughter had a very positive experience in her first year at the school. This past year has been a nightmare. The teacher is miserable! It's sad to say that the teacher has her 'favorites' and it's very unprofessional of her to only encourage her favorites. I am not please with the after-school program as a teacher doesn't like to wait around until 6:00 pm eventhough I pay the school to watch my child until 6:00. If you're not in a certain finacial class, good luck. It's all about how much money you make, what kind of car you drive, and if you own a home in order for you to be liked up at that school. Otherwise, parents teach their kids not to play with your child if you're not up to par. The principal is great though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2008

From my first phone call to St. Francis, I was thrilled! From the Office Staff to the Clergy, all are wonderful people who are caring and qualified educators. My child loves this place and so do I!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2007

St. Francis is a wonderful school. Everyone is in very high spirits. Being an active parent in the school, the kids are extremely happy and excited to learn. The principal is amazing as well as the staff. They will answer any question that you may have via calling them or even e-mail. Yes they have rules, just like any other school. Overall, St. Francis is an excellent school where learning is priority #1.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2007

This school was the worst experience ever! My son used to love school and after two years he hated waking up in the morning. His teachers weren't kind and the principal did nothing on his behalf. It needs a total overhaul.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2006

Excellent school - the education is extremely well rounded. The teachers are on top! Highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2005

The school is 'okay'. Wouldnt send my child there ever again.. Some of the teachers need anger managment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2005

The Principal is pro-active and hands on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2005

The principal needs to work closer with parents and listen to their ideas and needs and maybe enrollment will improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 52%
Hispanic 22% 21%
Two or more races 8% N/A
Asian 3% N/A
Black 1% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Anne Stefano
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Brooklyn
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21-18 46th Street
Queens, NY 11105
Phone: (718) 726-9405

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 122 Mamie Fay
Astoria, NY


Ps 84 Steinway
Astoria, NY


Ps 2 Alfred Zimberg
Jackson Heights, NY


Is 141 The Steinway
Long Island City, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT