Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of Hope Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 579 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Queens

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $476,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,470.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 19, 2011

I graduated from Our Lady of Hope in 2006, and after 10 years in that school, it was the happiest moment of my life getting out of it. OHL is possibly the worst catholic school you can go to, one unknown fact about OHL was that it was founded by members of room,the Italian Mob, and that mindset follows them, they are all about money, my younger brother was assaulted in the class then forced to apologize to the students who assaulted him for looking at them the wrong way which was untrue, because their parents donate large sums of money to the school Most teachers have no passion in their job in example one SS teacher makes fun of and verbally abuses his students because he lacks passion for his job and once put on an improper school play in front of the entire school, that the principal had to interrupt. I can not emphase more and more about how money is everything to Our Lady of Hope and how they do nothing for you the teachers again do not care when i was in OHL i had a 70 average in high school i had a 97 average because teachers actually cared in public school thats another if you plan on going to public school from OHL they hate you and will spite you while your still there


Posted September 18, 2011

I have to say that after having my child attend OLH from Pre K to 4th grade I feel it was the biggest mistake I made...Bullies...incompetant teachers...and if your not someone who gives extra money to the school then you are no one.My child now goes to PS 128 and the teachers could not believe how far behind he was...they didnt understand what if anything he had learned all those years.he is now striving in 128...the teachers are amazing and the children are all accepting of each other...not like OLH if you dont have cool sneakers the kids made fun of you...teach your children religion in your own home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

I have two kids attending the school. Both boys and i do not feel that they are treated any different then girls. Is it worth the tuition we spend of course it is - they learn our catholic values, have excellent math program, lots of sports program and the involvement of the parents is amazing. People complain about the afterschool. Be happy there is after school so you do not have to worry who will be watching them in the afternoon. I really do recommends school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2006

I graduated from OLH in 2004 and now I attend one of the top local highschools. OLH is a good school for children under sixth grades because they satisfy all the needs for these younger grades. However certain areas for the upper grades I feel were neglected such as essay writing. Don't get me wrong OLH has many good teachers but they like any school have some that should be removed. One of their programs that I must say is excellent is their math department, as a freshman in high school I was put into sophomore math. If your child struggles in Math they may get left behind. The school is very strict, overly so. The principal doesn't know how to discipline and is overall useless. However the vice-principal is amazing at her job. She is fair and if she is made principal send your child to OLH immediately!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 27, 2005

first, my 3 children are in olh and i am extremely happy with all the teachers. (it is worth every penny -to have my kids here). my oldest is in the 5th grade. the high percentage as one person wrote is of highly irish decent..not true. it is 95% italian/americans (just a correction as it has no bearing on anything). big on fundraising, close knit community, town hall meetings, etc. as for disciplining boys over girls, nonsense. safety here. drive up to the school in winters, the older kids will walk in your little ones when it snows. there is no 'perfect' school, as of course olh has it's share of problems, as every school does, but i am pleased and very happy with my childrens' progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2005

There are a number of extracurricular activities available for students, proably the most of any school in the area. parents are very involved in fundraising and other volunteer efforts. However, they do have a space problem, there mobile classrooms and for the year 2004 thru 2005, I know that 2nd grade was reduced to two classes of 40 children in each class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

The teachers are really good. The kids love the school and are very well behaved. The demographics are very limited. There is not a lot of cultral diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2005

The school is great. A collegue of mine has both kids studying in the school. A very high degree of parent involvement. A high percentage of students come from irish families. Special emphasis on the english program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2004

Parents, please post reviews. I have one child; a girl and I really want to send her to OLH, however, we are zoned for PS 128 which is an amazing school. I a really 'up in arms' as to what to do. I am a active catholic and having a christian home is extremely important to me and I feel that OLH is a safe and nurturing environment for my daughter. If I were to enroll in OLH, I could return to the work force with a sense of security and peace of mind. I realize this is priceless; but is worth over $3,000.00 per year? Money that could be used for college tuition (or ice sculptures at her wedding). To further complicate the matter, I don't feel that she would get any less of an education at PS 128. Please share your thoughts. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2004

The educational courses offered are good, however, the school does not tolerate any mistakes. They are very strict especially with the boys. They do not have a good after school program and the children are disciplined often or not watched. They do not treat the boys as equally as the girls. They do not offer a boy scout troop as they feel there is not enough room because the girl scouts use the gym and there is not room. If your child is a boy, please consider another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Excellent school. Good quality education in a great environment. Close knit community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 52%
Hispanic 3% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Black 0% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Michele Krebs
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Brooklyn
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

61-21 71st Street
Queens, NY 11379
Phone: (718) 458-3535

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ps 290
Maspeth, NY



Ps 49 Dorothy Bonawit Kole
Middle Village, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT