Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Mary Gate Of Heaven School

Private | K-8 | 495 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Queens

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $360,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,530.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 11, 2014

Hate the fact that there is no Cafeteria here they wont even microwave food for the students it is a nut free school so what can you really give your child for snack and lunch? They have a choice for you to buy expensive Pizza and McDonalds every other Thursday Really mcDonalds what are we teaching our children? That MCdonalds is healthy? I may change schools just due to this let alone this school does not challenge the children in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2013

There is no doubt that while attending SMGH (prek-8th) I received a quality education - Full scholarship to SFP, admitted to the top high school in Queens (THHS), and a specialized school (QHSSYC). However, I can't help but feel that I could've accomplished so much more had I chosen to attend a good public school. This school has no trips, no cafeteria (eat in the auditorium), a few of the teachers are quite rude (Ms. Quinn comes to mind), and so much time is wasted on religion (can't really blame them, it is a Catholic school). Although, I've made friends for a lifetime. My opinion is this - if you want your child to have a quality education, go onto a top tier HS, take HS classes, send your child elsewhere. Otherwise, if you're looking for a (very) sheltered, safe environment, and a decent education, look no further. I have not regretted attending this school. ~student from class of 2013


Posted January 30, 2013

horrible first grade teacher mrs quinn should be put down for how mean she is to the children..the new principal cant and will never be half of the old principal mr scanell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2010

I have two daughters that attend SMGH and they love it. The teachers & staff are very caring and only want the students to succeed. Surprisingly, the parents look out for each others kids as well. These days you don't see much of that. The prinicipal is always involved in everything that goes on. For example, my daughter needed help transitioning from fourth to fifth grade and he was there to find the help she needed. Overall this school is excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2009

i go t school here this school is outstanding words can not describe how nice and welcoming these teachers and staff workers are !!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2009

IM a parent of two boys one who just graduated from ST MARY GATES OF HEAVEN and will attend molloy this fall. I also have younger son who will be starting 1st grade this fall at ST MARY GATE OF HEAVEN SCHOOL. I am proud to say that my children have been and will continue to get a well rounded education at S.M.G.H. I am also grateful that the teachers and Mr Scannell has prepared my oldest son for the challenges he may face this year in Molloy. Everyone that is part of S.M.G.H are dedicated individuals who want the best for our children. They go above and beyond the call of duty to make sure our children are prepared for to meet and achieve all state requirements, citywide exams and life outside of S.M.G.H. They encourage the children to be the best they can be. They guide the children in the right direction, by always willing to give up their spare time to tutor the children are to discuss any problem that the children may be having.The staff at this school always reach out to parents and are willing to stay after school to find ways to help children achieve any goals that were set.They are very family oriented and offer many ways to bring principal, teacher, children and parents together. Mr Scannell should be commended for all he does for the children and our community. He is an asset to the school and I am proud that my children are part of this wonderful school. This school should be rated outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2008

Im am a student graduating from saint mary gate of heaven school this year. My school offers a great education and also a very fun learning environment. The teachers are caring and insightful. I would definiatly recommend this school to others seeking academic excellence for their children.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 17, 2008

st. mary gate of heaven is the best school,if you don't understand they will tutor you or explain.but they do not have a cafeteria. this is the beat school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2007

I am very happy with St. Mary Gate of Heaven. My daughter has been in the school since she was 3. The teachers are great, Mr. Scannel is wonderful, parents are so involved and it is very comforting to know that there are so many parents onboard with the same goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

my son loves that school they do so many things. they really get the parents involved in there kids lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2007

I recently graduated from smgh and it is a great to school where you learn and grow as a responsible young adult the teachers there are very kind and compasionate and they are great at doing their job. gate of heaven is a great place to get your start and your finish
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 8, 2005

St. Mary Gate of Heaven is a wonderful school. The academic programs are excellent. Many graduate from the school with top grades and the ability to test and pass for top local high schools such as Molloy. Art and music are part of the curriculum beginning in the first grade. Extracurricular activities such as intramural sports are well organized and safe. Parent involvement is very high. There are parents on hand in the school on a daily basis. The Parents Association is well organized. Principal Scannell is wonderful, he knows all the kids by name. I live within 8 blocks of another Catholic school and chose to send my daughter to St. Mary's because I have seen the results of their hard work and dedication in my nephews who have excelled in school. St. Mary's has a great sense of family and belonging. Kids love being a part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 40% N/A
Hispanic 37% 21%
White 16% 52%
Black 4% 21%
Two or more races 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Patrick Scannell
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Brooklyn
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

104-6 101st Avenue
Queens, NY 11416
Phone: (718) 846-0689

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 62 Chester Park
South Richmond Hill, NY


Ps 273
Richmond Hill, NY


Ps 108 Capt Vincent G Fowler
South Ozone Park, NY



The Theatre Street School
Richmond Hill, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT