Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of The Angelus

Private | PK-8 | 44 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Queens

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $236,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,470.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 21, 2013

I would have give the school 5 starts, but they've made a decision to change principals last year. Mrs. Armstrong is no longer a principal of the school, instead they hired someone who has NO BACKGROUND in education and no experience with children. I am sure he is trying to do his best, but I am afraid that its not good enough for the position he is in. I also noticed that school enrollment had dropped from when Mrs. Armstrong was the principal. This cannot be good for school's financial health. I hope they can get Mrs. Armstrong back somehow, because ever since she left the school is losing ground with a lot of other parents I spoke to. As far as the teachers go, very good, very dedicated people who seem to care deeply about the children in their charge. After school program is GREAT, they require that children do their homework before being allowed to play, this is real school, not babysitting. The kids are generally nice, polite and non aggressive and staff is caring, responsive to parents, and children's needs always come first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2013

Highly recommended alternative to PS 206; small and generally good school, but with small budget & inconsistent standards of academics and teacher professionalism throughout grade levels. We feel OLA has lowered standards in some cases to keep seats filled and tuition checks flowing in. A 6th & 7th grade teacher didn t like our son and the feeling was mutual. Problem persisted into 7th grade (with the exception of Mr. Arra, a wonderful, world-class math & science teacher). Certain teachers dissatisfaction with our son s attitude negatively influenced how they rated his academic performance. We can t afford this when competition to get into the top high schools is so cutthroat. After 7+ years and $35,000 investment in OLA and our son s education, we no longer felt that we were getting a sufficient return on our investment. Nor did we feel, when we brought this matter to the principal s and teachers attention, that the (new) principal regards parents as the shareholders, investors, and customers that they are. Therefore, we removed our son from OLA in mid-7th grade and transferred him to Junior High School 157. He has adjusted well and we are all glad to have made the change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2012

I'm starting to think it's not a good school now things are changing very much with this new principal. I personally would like the old principal back! Teachers are GREAT! I love all the ones my child had before this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

This school is great. The teachers, nurse and principle really care about the students. They have an excellent afterschool program actually run by teachers. There is a large, grassy yard for recess and extracurricular sports and activities. The students do well as they go on to high school. There are always letters about graduates making honor roll and getting into great high schools. Transferring my kid here from public was one of the best decisions I've ever made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

This school is great!! It has a wonderful principal and teachers!! They are very dedicated to their students. The school is small which I believe it makes it better managed. My daughter loves her school and if she is happy and doing well academically and emotionally, then I'm very happy!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2010

I love this school, Mrs. Santa Maria, Tracy, Deck, Zoufaly, but I think that some teachers could do better. I really don't like it when my daughter comes home saying that she didnt understand a word in math or science or almost fell asleep in gym. thxs for my regards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2009

This is my daughters' 4th year in the school. She is definitely ahead of her peers in speech and overall knowledge of a variety of subjects. She has taken spanish for 3 yrs, learned to play the piano and the recorder. Participated in t-ball and now is on the pee wee basketball team. I highly recommend the school. The teachers and principal cares about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2008

Our principal in OLA is outstanding and both the parents and students know it. We are blessed by her, her dedicated teachers and office staff. I believe the school will keep getting better (my gut feeling is that it's the best school in existence in our area). Our principal has introduced a lot of programs (music, science fair, more field trips, etc) to further enhance learning. It is also a place where you feel your child is safe. The parents are very involved in school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

It's very cozy environment, with only one class per grade. And I agree, the teachers are very dediated and OLA is a terrific school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2007

OLA is a terrific school! The children are motivated and the teachers are dedicated! The principal is down to earth and very involved. Overall, I am very pleased with the education my son has received at OLA!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

Its just a very nice school. The Prinicipal is great and the teachers are dedicated. I couldn't ask for more. Parent involvement is key in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 29% N/A
Hispanic 28% 21%
Black 22% 21%
White 16% 52%
Two or more races 5% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Joan M. Armstrong
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Brooklyn
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9805 63rd Drive
Queens, NY 11374
Phone: (718) 896-7220

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ps 139 Rego Park
Rego Park, NY



Ps 220 Edward Mandel
Forest Hills, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT