Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Rose Of Lima School

Private | PK-8 | 453 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Queens

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $313,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 26, 2014

Horrible experience. Instructor staines and the the principal horrible. Greedy for money and constant negative feedback about my son who attended pre-k. I even had my son checked by the nys board of education and after a series of tests my son passed every single test given. Constant reports of my son misbehaving at age 4. I'm not saying my son is angel but far from being Dennis the menace. The instructor was new and felt my son has psychological problems. Well again the NYS board of education deemed him as normal, his pediatrian deemed him as normal and so does his current school in Long Island deemed him also perfectly normal. High grades in tests and quiet in classroom. Teacher states " a pleasure to have my son in class. Now he is going to third grade with awesome grades. So my review is real and my opinion. I will never have any of my children nor do I recommend this school to anyone. Waste of money, time and made me feel like my son was incompetent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2014

This school is absolutely one of the most judgmental schools possible. The big-nosed principle doesn't understand that everyone comes from a different background, especially a socioeconomic one, all she cares about is money. There is no family values at this school, it instills fear in their students in order for them to behave. The staff is also very spiteful when my daughter was applying for a middle school for gifted children the administration and people in the office screwed up her application on purpose, as well as submitted false attendance records to show she's excessively absent. That jeopardized my daughter's chance of admission just because they didn't want another child escaping their brainwashing techniques. Don't send your child here, especially for the insanely high tuition you have to pay for an elementary school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2013

Very good school. However, when you have 6th- 8th graders in the same enviorment of pre-K-5th graders, they would be treated as little kids and not the full growth of maturing young adults. They also have a Principal that is very stern and gets into the business of others, in which she has no business for. The Principal also looks for strictness and not the full ways of learning and responsiblity. However, there is a sense if family and good equality of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2012

My daughter has attended St Rose for two years now and I absolutely love the school! The teachers and staff are caring and the small school allows them to know every child's name. They also have an after school program which keeps your child up until 6 pm if needed. That has saved me on the days I am forced to work late! My daughter is eager to begin her 3rd year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2011

This is the worst school I have ever seen. I have 4 children and have never experienced a school so judgemental. The principal doesn't accept the ideal that all kids are different and learn at a different pace. This school doesn't communicate on academics but heavily stress finances and rules of the school. They told me that my 4 year old pre k son had to be left back cause he didn't meet the standards for k. But yet they never gave heeomework. Who set standards for k? Absolutely the worst school ever. They need to be investigated and audited.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2011

I sent my son to St. Rose for Pre K. His teacher worked with us and our son to make his school experience the best it could be. The principal is a stern, and demanding woman who has a heart of gold. She is responsible for every soul in her school and takes that responsibility seriously. She may come across as too forceful for some, but I have nothing but respect for her. My son is a high spirited child who very easily could have been labeled a trouble maker and dismissed as such, but both his teacher and the principal made a concerted effort to work with him and he likes them both very much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

This is my second year in St. Rose and I have nothing but good things to say about the school. The principal and staff go above and beyond at St. Rose, he is doing great academically. I wish there were more schools like this out there. Our children come first and parents working together with the staff make it a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2009

I sent my daughter to St. Rose for pre-k and was very happy with the learning environment and her teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2008

The structure of the school is too rigid and the teachers lack experience and education on good practices. There are no other schools performing well in the area so it limits parents options. Its the best among what is available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

i went to this school. It's ok for the area. I mean If you want your kids to really be prepared for high school, send them some place else for their middle school years.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2008

I believe that the staff and principal and this school do an incredible job of caring for all of its students needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

this is a wonderful school and the teaching enviroment is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 38% 52%
Black 27% 21%
Hispanic 23% 21%
Two or more races 7% N/A
Asian 5% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Theresa Andersen
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Brooklyn
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

154 Beach 84th Street
Queens, NY 11693
Phone: (718) 474-7079

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 183 Dr Richard R Green
Rockaway Beach, NY




Scholars Academy
Rockaway Park, NY


Ps Ms 42 R Vernam
Arverne, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT