Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
435 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Sebastian School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 29, 2015
- a parent
Mrs.sandy Ryan for giving my child a good lesson of art. She is very creative and fun according to my child.

St Sebastian School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted October 29, 2015
- a parent
They feel as if the student has to learn whatever goes into their minds. If he/she is having trouble they don't help that much to do better


St Sebastian School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted October 29, 2015
- a parent
A child in the 6th grade can stay up till 1:00 in the morning doing homework and too many exams

St Sebastian School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted October 29, 2015
- a parent
In a was academically is somewhat good and bad at the same time. but it's too much homework. A child can stay up till 1:00 AM doing home work in the 6th Grade through 8th Grade

St Sebastian School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted October 29, 2015
- a parent
They use vulgar language and try to make the student feel as if he/she is no one.


St Sebastian School 1

Posted October 06, 2015
- a parent
I have nothing to say please delete this review. The problem was resovled. There was a lack of communication.

St Sebastian School 1

Posted January 15, 2015
- a parent
Definitely not recommend this school. I have a list of terrible experiences of this School. Most of the staff have a very mean attitude, especially the secretary and a very rude male teacher. To complain about anything in St. Sebastian is useless, you rather change your kids to another school, than to expect a solution. More important, it seems to me that teachers don't even care if kids learn or not. I spend everyday, every evening explaining my kid what he didn't understand in class. The school is not worth it for the tuition paid.

St Sebastian School 4

Posted September 24, 2012
- a parent
We love St. Sebastian, and the most important part is that our son goes to school with a big smile each morning, it can not get any better than that, He is first grade now and has been there since PK. We have been super lucky with the teachers, we like the curriculum. What I found beautiful about the school is that, they are opened to other religions, the important part is to have faith and teach the kids the love of God, I will not recommend the school if you do not believe, it will be very conflictive for your kid. The after school program is just o.k but very convenient, you just need to keep an eye on homework and you have too anyway so I can complain about it. We may move to the middle village soon and I am willing to commute with my child just to keep him there.


St Sebastian School 5

Posted January 25, 2012
- a parent
I am forever grateful to this school for my son recently got a full scholarship into one of the prestigious private high school and my daughter is also on top of her class. I highly recognized teachers involvement in the individual capabilities of the students and their dedication to uphold the excellence in learning. I am so happy with how teachers treat students and and the way they teach students....teachers know each students capabilities and tell parents in every conference where you're child excels or what needs to focus on. When it comes to discipline, teachers work hand in hand with parents to be at the same paced. I highly recommend this school. It's better to invests in education wherein you could get it back in return by having EXCELLENT kids.

St Sebastian School 1

Posted June 17, 2011
- a community member
I don't know who all these people are praising this school, but I suspect they have their own reasons to gush. Maybe they haven't seen how a really good school can do. First of all, the school is not even accredited--that may not matter in the early grades, but it's essential in middle school if you want your child to go to a decent HS. The teachers may be well-intentioned but unimaginative. They teach by rote from old, beat-up textbooks; computers, one class a week, science without experiments, math topics as if they were chapters in a novel, diving into huge numbers before the concepts are mastered and worst of all, ELA is left in the hands of truly incompetent teachers who teach by whim. The kids who don't do well are left to wallow and those who excel, they get solid help at home. One star for safety. Good luck!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Sebastian School
39-76 58th Street, Queens, NY  11377
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (718) 429-1982
Last modified St Sebastian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top