Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
446 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


William Spyropoulos Greek-American Day School 5

Posted March 14, 2011
- a parent
LOVE THIS SCHOOL!!!!!This school is very serious about academic excellence. All subjects are focused on with intense detail. My children have started here from nursery. Now they in the middle school and elementary grades. They have always excelled. The staff is amazing. The principal, assistant principal and teachers are very qualified and dedicated. My children go to school with a smile on their face every day. I am so happy knowing that my children learn every day. Unfortunately, this is something very few schools do. William Spyropoulos is a model school.

William Spyropoulos Greek-American Day School
no rating

Posted November 12, 2009
- a parent
This school is not very good the principal is very mean just not to your face and the head priest is money hungry they give way to much homework and the tests are very hard


William Spyropoulos Greek-American Day School
no rating

Posted March 03, 2009
- a parent
Overall I found William Spyropoulos to be a good school. My concerns for academic quality are focused mainly on the later grades. The early sense of security in having my children received at the door by grandfatherly figure gave way to apprehension about academic depth and variety in later grades. I believe that subjects are covered superficially and homework loads are light. In addition, though I value Greek heritage, religion, and language, I cannot help but wonder which subjects were sacrificed to make room for these in a 6 hour day. By remarkable coincidence, there are a variety of extra curriculum programs and private tutoring available for an extra fee. These deficiencies become apparent when your 95+ student experiences difficulties later in higher caliber schools. Add to that the endless parent politics and constant requests for money and you begin to consider alternatives.

William Spyropoulos Greek-American Day School 2

Posted November 20, 2008
- a parent
This school is good academically but lacks sensitivity within the student body. I had an 8th and 6th grader in this school. The Oral Greek class should have higher standards in terms of grammer and verbal skills. The 8th grade year book lacked sensitivity as well. Extra help is not part of the school system, only private turtoring is available for an additional cost. I'm glad to be done with this school. I wouln't do it over again. Sincerly, Faye

William Spyropoulos Greek-American Day School 2

Posted November 16, 2006
- a parent
I have a daughter in 6th grade, and i am not as happy as i would like to be, the extra curricular activities are nice, but thay are also 90 dollars to join, even activities like chess club. althogh the parents are really involved and the teachers are pretty good, there is something about the leadershi that brings the rest of the school down.


William Spyropoulos Greek-American Day School 5

Posted June 23, 2006
- a parent
My daughter just graduated from this school and it is the best school i could ever dream of sending her to. She was able to take the math regents two years early and take earth science and greek regents and a spanish proficiency test. The teachers prepared them grately so that the overall average for the greek was a 95 and for the math a 98! but also the english is excelent. They analyze in depth books like animal farm, the pearl, to kill a mockingbird, frankenstein, and much much more. In all this is a great school and helps keep the students greek heritage and religion.

William Spyropoulos Greek-American Day School 5

Posted October 22, 2003
- a parent
I have a 6 year old son who attends in this school. The school is superb, the teachers are great and the principal, Mrs Kromidas, is an exeptional educator that goes out of her way for the kids. I am so happy that my son is in such good hands.

William Spyropoulos Greek-American Day School 5

Posted August 22, 2003
- a parent
This school is the best school and I would recommend anyone to bring their children there. The teachers and especially the priniple is very involved with the school and truly cares about the children's future.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

William Spyropoulos Greek-American Day School
43-15 196th Street, Queens, NY  11358
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (718) 357-5583
Last modified William Spyropoulos Greek-American Day School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top