Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Solomon Schechter School Of Queens

Private | PK-8 | 24 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Queens

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $583,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,420.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

106 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 11, 2014

SSSQ has given my children a stellar secular education, plus a love of Judaism and Israel. As an additional bonus, they are now fluent in Hebrew! SSSQ is going through some big changes, with a new forward-thinking head of school. The sky is the limit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2014

I attended Schechter K-8 and graduated in 2005. I had a terrible experience straight through and most of the classmates I keep in touch with feel the same.


Posted May 19, 2010

My 3 grandchildren received a very good Jewish and secular education at the school.


Posted May 13, 2010

I love this school because of its excellent teachers, ethics, nurturing environment and students' achievement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

I had a wonderful time both socially and academically. It was wonderful preparation for High School and a solid base for my upcoming college career.


Posted May 10, 2010

They have the best teacher who care for the kids success in school and in life
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

schechter is an excellent conservative day school which teaches our children to love the jewish religion
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

Schechter provides my children with the Jewish education I wish I had when I was young -- coupled with a stellar general education curriculum - in a warm and caring environment. It can't be beat!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

It has been a great academic and social experience for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

I love SSSQ because the kids are challenged and nurtured. The parents, teachers and kids create a true community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Excellence in Judaic and secular studies in a nurturing environment where every child works to their potential makes for an outstanding educational institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

I believe that this school gives our kids the highest level of education, and prepears them to function independantly in all areas. The teachers are great, as well as the atmosphere of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Great PTA! The PTA really supplements the education the children get with wonderful programming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

My grandchild is receiving a great education there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Because it is a warm caring environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

I love the family-like atmoshphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Being a person who taught science from 1972 until 1990, I am excited to see that their is so much interest in this discipline. Usually students shy away from math and science. Bravo Solomon Schechter School of Queens!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

It is a home and a family devoted to teach education and a way of life.It is a place that both teachers and studets learn from each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Because of the great job they do teaching young people to be responsible and respectful students.


Posted April 27, 2010

It's a great school with both religious and academic teachings. The teachers are strong but gentle and knowledgeable. It's just a great place to grow up in.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 100% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Black 0% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 21%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Martin D. Mayerson
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Associations
  • SSDSA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

76-16 Parsons Boulevard
Queens, NY 11366
Phone: (718) 591-9800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ps 154
Flushing, NY


Shin Dong Ki
Flushing, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT