Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
74 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Flushing Christian School 4

Posted March 14, 2015
- a parent
God is first in everything they do. My son is hyper and sometimes need help focusing. His kindergarten teacher Mrs Harmon who's worked for the school for decades prayed with me before we met. Prayed for wisdom and instruction on how we both can work together to help my son, she prayed for my home and family. He needed extra help learning how to read and write and the music teacher volunteers to take him out of the class a few times a week to practice in these areas. They are a loving family at this school with traditional values, teaching about the Lord and living it. FIS is a priceless gem in NYC anD I am beyond blessed to see how my son is developing there academically, socially and my number 1 which is spiritually.

Flushing Christian School 5

Posted June 05, 2014
- a community member
I love my school!!! Everyone should go there!!!!! The academics are amazing and the teachers are great!!!


Flushing Christian School 2

Posted June 05, 2014
- a parent
Although academically ahead it did not show the quality in teachers and students I was looking for. I pulled my child out immediately after I saw the incompetence in the school

Flushing Christian School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Our child was previously enrolled in two different Christian schools, and we learned not all are the same. While one had strengths in academics, it failed tremendously in the spiritual realm. The other, that gave emphasis to learning the Bible, lacked the academic side. FCS has managed to excel on both fronts. We are ecstatic to place our child in a school where not only is he being challenged academically & led by teachers experienced in their field, but also a place where pointing students toward Christ and the Gospel is of the utmost importance. You will not find a more caring principal or staff; people who are ALWAYS willing to take your calls or meet with you immediately if necessary. The small classroom size allows teachers to focus in on student s weaknesses, while encouraging their individual strengths. We have seen a confidence instilled in our child that we know is a direct result of his wonderful teachers. A former shy introvert, he now sees himself as a leader. We are blessed to have found FCS & highly recommend it to all looking for a school where their child will thrive academically and be in a place of high morals and integrity.

Flushing Christian School 5

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
FCS is more than a school it is a ministry of love. The teachers, faculty and staff poor their heart and souls into teaching the students. I you take a look t the school's website and read the bio's you will see all of them could make a lot more money at more affluent private schools or in the public school system but they are at FCS believing that it is where GODhas placed them. The curriculum is too notch but with the love and support I the teacher and staff most chdren will rise to the occasion and receive an excellent education in an environment where their character can be molded for service to CHRIST.


Flushing Christian School 5

Posted October 10, 2013
- a teacher
I've gone to private school all my life, but in the few months that I've been working here I can see the difference between FCS and other schools. Its nurturing environment and attentive staff really allow the students to not only to create a close bond with one another, but also with God. I really enjoy working at this school and it deserves all the blessings possible.

Flushing Christian School 5

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
I am the parent of three children who all attended and graduated from Flushing Christian School. They each received a quality education and were well prepared to successfully compete in the public school arena. They have each gone on to higher education and are successful. Flushing Christian School is a place where children are loved and nurtured by a loving staff who seek to help each child be all he/she can be.

Flushing Christian School 5

Posted October 09, 2013
- a teacher
Flushing Christian School is fully-accredited and chartered by the New York State Board of Regents. FCS is warm, nurturing, multi-cultural, and exhibits a family-like atmosphere. The small class sizes allow teachers to provide individualized attention for each student. The students have opportunities for organic, hands-on learning experiences that a larger classroom setting would not offer. Many of our graduates go on to attend some of New York City s best public and private high schools: such as Bronx Science, Stuyvesant, Bard High School and Early College, to name a few. Our alumni have pursued degrees in law, in the medical field, to go on to earn their master s and even a PhD. Our students have become pastors, wall-street executives, teachers and policemen. FCS provides a solid foundation for success!


Flushing Christian School 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
Excellent curriculum, students are well prepared academically in Math, Science, English, Music, foreign language, sign language is also taught along with moral grounding through religion and a healthy relationship with God. Small classes makes sure students get the attention they need. The diverse population gives children the opportunity to appreciate other cultures. Great principal and staff.

Flushing Christian School 5

Posted March 25, 2010
- a parent
Flushing Christian School offers the most important features that a child should get. As a parent, I am more than happy to see my daughter flourish and grow spiritually and academically. She gained e her smile back after I pulled her out from a public school and put her FCS. She is back to a happy kid who can't stop smiling and sharing her stories of what happened in the class and school. If you are a Christian parent and want to put the best investment for your child, this school is a right place to saw seeds of faith and Living Words into your child's heart. Sending my daughter to FCS is the best thing that I have ever done for her!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Flushing Christian School
41-54 Murray Street, Queens, NY  11355
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. (718) 445-3533
Last modified Flushing Christian School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top