Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
610 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Demetrios School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Very grateful for Ms. Koulianos an English Teacher who encouraged my child to do more independent reading and did everything possible to break his shell and barrier he created about reading. Breath of fresh air and with inventive teaching methods made children more interested in reading and encourages inquisitive questions and teaching how to read with understanding and not to be afraid to have their own opinion on what they read and to express it freely.

St Demetrios School 5

Posted March 18, 2014
- a parent
I am very excited about this school and shocked how low it scored. I believe it must be students who were expelled. This school actually cares for all its students. It offers academic achievement and extracurricular activities in the areas of trending interest, from academics to sports. The afternoon school workshops vary from art, French, writing workshops to basketball and religion. It allows the child to grow in many ways and in everyway including socialization and intelligence. It fully helps the child grow in a Hellenistic environment, and is the only one in Queens that does so from nursery to High school ! Great school, would recommend wholeheartedly!


St Demetrios School 1

Posted September 29, 2013
- a parent
( first part) My children have attended this school from kindergarten. Under the direction of the AP at the elementary school, the children thrive. She truly cares and helps her staff and the students. She is wonderful Once my children reached the middle school , it was all downhill. The principal is just a figurehead who doesnt give any direction to his teachers. He never watches a lesson or knows what his teachers are doing. He has no communication with the students.

St Demetrios School 5

Posted August 15, 2012
- a community member
As a Manager in the biggest Telecom corporation in the world and a budding scientist and inventor. I credit the school that taught my heritage, world history and of course the math and sciences that make me who I am today. My nick name is Half Spartan Half Athenian. If my fortune comes out as I hope it will soon. I will return there to grow the whole community and help the people of my heritage as well.

St Demetrios School 1

Posted July 01, 2010
- a parent
Many parents send their child(ren) to St. Demetrios because they believe the school is reponsible for raising them. Unfortunatly, many take their children out and return after loosing fuill control in a public school. As a previous student and current parent. I owe my gratitude to the entire St. Demetrios Community. BRAVO!!!


St Demetrios School 1

Posted June 03, 2010
- a community member
As a former student at St.D's I can honestly say that this school is far from being recognized as a quality educational facility. In fact, the actions and characteristics of St.D's categorizes it as more of a daycare then a high school. I had the pleasure of transferring for high school but have seen the horrid results that the high school has produced over the years. The programs are not well facilitated and the lack of opportunities for students is dangerous to the growth of the community. The teachers and administrators seem to be dangerously underqualified and have no bearing on how to properly run an academic institution. When I am a parent one day, I will not even consider thinking about St. Demetrios for my children for I am ashamed to have been part of that school for 9 long years.

St Demetrios School 4

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
I am sending both by son to St. D's. They are now in the lower elementary classes and the VP there is amazing. The middle school has been moved to the HS building. That program needs structure. I hope to send the boys to this school until middle school if the middle school does not get at the very least a coordinator. My children will not be attending high school there.

St Demetrios School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
It provides escellent education and intellectual stimulation and promotes good character and good citizenship for Greek American children and not only.....


St Demetrios School
no rating

Posted October 02, 2008
- a student
its ok, its not a good idea to stay there for high school. in middle school its fine but only if read on your own and get 'tutored'

St Demetrios School 1

Posted September 05, 2007
- a student
Being a former student in saint demetrios, i am not pleased with my experience there. The school and faculty are very unorganized. Education is not their main priority!! Teachers come and go, there are hardly any activities that you can choose from(basketball for boys). There was cheating going on during state tests & teachers wouldnt do anything about it!! the classes were always out of controll..the only good thing is that they have cameras on every floor. if you are a parent thinking about sending your child to this school, do the right thing and send your child to a public school to get a real education.

Nearby schools

St Demetrios School
30-3 30th Drive, Queens, NY  11102
(718) 728-1754
Last modified St Demetrios School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top