Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Al-Ihsan Academy

Private | PK-12 | 417 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Queens

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $340,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,540.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 26, 2013

My son current attends this school(kindergarten. Overall I have had a good experience at this school. My son has an integration of learning surahs as well as academics. I gave a four star rating because I think there is a couple of things they need to work on. Administration organization needs to get organized and the grading system needs some adjustment. Besides these two, good school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2012

My neices attended this school and she transfered to public school after 5 years to attend middle school. She is an A++ student. she was not comfortable at the public school and transfered back to Al Inshan to finish school. She stated that the education at this school was a bit more challenging for her than public school. It shows that education standards are being met.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2011

Very good school. Children are well mannered. Teachers are a delight. Hope it continues this way for a very long time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

school has no spine! rules are not followed by parents and students alike and no rule is upheld by staff... staff ( not including 2 or 3 great teachers) are cold and uncaring and downright rude! islamic identity is basically gone here! teachers are harsh to students not hesitating to call a kid stupid or idiot! principal basically has a ' well what can we do about it' attitude and the kids.... forget it i dont know what kind if islamic ideas the parents are teaching them but it sure doesnt show! i was shocked at the lack of basic islamic upbringing when i started here!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

So far it is a challenge. I agree with the parent about the teachers in this school, being un-caring. One teacher is very verbally abusive to our child. The classrooms are so small. The environment is cold, no artwork, drabby. I do not believe anymore we have to place our child in a 'Islamic' school. As parents we have only one chance to give our child an excellent quality education. We are unhappy. We are considering alternatives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

My nephew and two children are attending al-ihsan academy, i feel very blessed and i would not want them to be anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

1. Weak Arabic & Islamic studies Program 2. Unfair Grading System 3. All classroom instructions are by the book only. There are no manipulative or hands-on experience used to teach the children. 4. Too much homework 5. The school environment is un-Islamic and cold. 6. Some teachers are uncaring and use back home teaching methods.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2007

My daughter is in 1st grade, and she love it there. We are very comfortable with the environment and the quality education that she is getting. she is a very smart child and she does not need any extra help. she even teaches us about Islam. she know Arabic and many surah and she learn about her religion. I hope she will continue there and my other 2 daughters will start their education there. The principle is a very kind and caring individual and the teachers are nice.Its a safe place to send your children and they are getting a good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

Parents of 3 sons attending this school, and I must say I am happy that they are part of such a highly qualified and attentive environment. My oldest is now entering 8th Grade and my youngest in Grade 2. I recommend this school to all parents, because having a pricipal as Brother Rafeek is a +. Sincerely, Fazia Ally (Nishaun's Mom)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 75% N/A
White 16% 52%
Black 9% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 21%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Rafeek Mohamed
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Islamic
Associations
  • ISLA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13008 Rockaway Boulevard
Queens, NY 11420
Phone: (718) 322-3154

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 96
South Ozone Park, NY



Ps 155
South Ozone Park, NY



Ps 123
South Ozone Park, NY


Ps 124 Osmond A Church
South Ozone Park, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT