Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6|Private
141 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Forest Hills Montessori School 5

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
My child has been in Montessori school since nursery. The main reason why we continued is because the level of academics is much higher than our zoned public schools and we felt that it will prepare him later to apply for citywide middle schools like Hunter, Baccalaureate etc. The student teacher ratio is great and he get individual attention. The school has Yoga, Music, French and Gym included in coursework. In addition, they have piano, cooking, art classes after school. If I could point out major drawbacks, it is that the classroom size keeps reducing in the higher grades and that they don't have a playground. Other than that, highly recommend this school.

Forest Hills Montessori School 1

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
The teachers seem stressed out and not willing to share the kids growth or hurdles with the parent. :(


Forest Hills Montessori School 1

Posted December 03, 2015
- a parent
It's amazing that this school has such good reviews. Avoid at all costs! It's a business - the care is more on numbers than creating a nurturing and caring environment. Very disappointing!

Forest Hills Montessori School 5

Posted June 11, 2014
- a parent
The extraordinary thing about this particular Montessori school lays in the teaching methods used from nursery throughout kindergarten. My daughter has been in this school for three years and she will continue on for 1st grade starting this fall. She is a very confident girl who loves to learn and was NEVER disengaged or bored or afraid when she had to do homework or any kind of school-related work. This is a school that will teach your child discipline, focus and a love for learning.

Forest Hills Montessori School 5

Posted February 28, 2014
- a parent
I have been thoroughly impressed with this school. The teachers are exceptional and there is a 10 to 1 ratio from a student to teacher perspective. They have weekly french and music classes and there are optional after school activities like piano and cooking/baking in addition to a before and after school program for working parents. My children have truly blossomed in this school- i have nothing but great things to say about it!


Forest Hills Montessori School 5

Posted February 04, 2012
- a parent
Our child has been at this school since he was 3 years old. He is now finishing his last year (6th grade) in this school and his experience there has been outstanding. The education has been amazing right from his 1st year there. He and 3 of his classmates (out of 7) were able to test for Hunter exam (an honor in itself). These same 4 children have each been given Academic scholarships to a local private school to attend the 7th grade there - truly an honor and a representation of the outstanding education especially in the 4th -6th grades. Whenever there was a challenge, the director, took control of the situation and made sure the problem was resolved. My wife and I both highly recommend this school to anyone who values an amazing experience and education for their child.

Forest Hills Montessori School 3

Posted October 10, 2011
- a parent
I had intended to send my child to this school from pre-k and onward, but within 6 months I realized I had to change plans. The education itself is good, but the class seemed overloaded with kids and the teachers appeared frazzled and stressed out from dealing with some of the behaviour of some kids. Also they seem to stress rote work rather than independent thinking. I found it was stifling for my child. Tour the school and find out which teachers will be teaching your child. See if you can drop in and observe a live class before deciding if it's the right fit for your child.

Forest Hills Montessori School 5

Posted August 21, 2011
- a community member
This school is great in all things. From academics to interactions. The teachers are very thoughtful and when a student is in need of help the teachers come to help right away. This school is just outstanding!


Forest Hills Montessori School 5

Posted June 27, 2011
- a parent
I live close to this school and picked this place for my 3 year old. My first impression of this school was very good. Teachers and the staff seem knowledgable and caring. Even during the tour my son (2.5 years then) got comfortable with the teacher. The only negative I see is the lack of outdoor space.

Forest Hills Montessori School 3

Posted December 03, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is in this school since she was 3. The schools only focus is academics... the school overall is good but i am not satisfied with the way they function. The concept of preK and Kindergartens in the same class is ok but spending 2 years in the same class is something which I dont like. there is no change of material work, the kids are doing the same activities through out the whole 2 years with the same teacher. Also the school does not have place for outdoor play (which should be encouraged for little kids everyday). overall it is an average school.

Nearby schools

Forest Hills Montessori School
67-04 Austin Street, Queens, NY  11375
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (718) 275-0173
Last modified Forest Hills Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Top