Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sacred Heart Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 56 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Queens

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $345,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,340.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 13, 2014

I am a parent that has a child in the 6th grade. I was recommended to this school from a close source thinking that my child would receive a high quality education. I was completely wrong. This school has been a great disappointment due to the lack of teacher practice and lack luster curriculum. The middle school children have not been prepared to meet the demands necessary to master the New York State Standards. The textbooks are outdated and they must be shared among 6th and 7th graders. The principal Ms. Smith does not address concerns that I've had with teachers inability to teach. I disagree with the purpose of students copying an entire book and 6th graders putting words in ABC order. As for Spanish being offered, I don't find my child receiving a list of words from September and assigned to copy them 3 x's each ,weekly quality instruction in Spanish. Tuition is 4,000 dollars and I feel completely cheated and robbed because I can't get back the ten months of learning my child did not get. I believe that this school has served a grave disappointment to the community. Look elsewhere if you want your child to achieve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

Sacred Heart Catholic Academy is one of the best places I could have ever allowed my daughter to attend. The secure and nurturing feeling you get when you walk through the doors is amazing. From PK-3 through 8th grade my child has had the best environmet for learning that I feel I could psobbile have given her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2013

SHS is the best!!!! I have been going to this school ever since Pre-k and now I am in the 8th grade. The environment is so nurturing. We are one family in Christ and we all work together. We just changed into an Academy and we are having different activities this year. We have the best Science teacher ever. She is amazing. I definitely recommend that you bring your child to this school! It is GREAT!!


Posted August 28, 2013

Sacred Heart is a good school for the average child. It is not a great school for a child that is excelling because there is no challenge for him or her. The principal, Mrs Smith, is great but she needs help. She needs to delegate, or she needs the power to delegate. She does everything. The ratio of students to teacher 35:1 is detrimental to the child that wants to be excellent. It is also detrimental to a teacher who wants to give deserved attention to all children. All children will converge to the center left.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2013

My daughter dislikes sacred heart. This school is the worst school my daughter has ever attended. The peincipal gives stufents detention for the littlelest things. This school is terrible and poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

This will be my daughter's 5th year attending Sacred Heart. She has always been an honors student and she's still on. The school could use more diversity in students but I do understand that the location isn't really in a diverse neighborhood. Mrs. Smith could use some help in running the school. Every time I walk into the building, you can hear children talking, laughing and making noise. This school should be a little more orderly in all activities, including during and after. Students shouldn't put on shows after school and not let out until after 8pm. The children are exhausted from being inside of school as early as 7:15am. I hope there are changes made this year or else my child will have to attend a different Catholic Academy next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

This will be my kids 3rd year attending Sacred Heart. They are getting a great education and I know my kids are in good hands when I leave them for the day. Not only are the teachers and principal great, the other students are so kind to each other. So grateful to Ms. Smith and the rest of the staff at Sacred Heart. Looking forward to the 2013-2014 year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2013

This school is a great school. It gives parents the peace of mind that you know that your child is safe and in caring hands. Mrs. Smith is exceptional; her tiredlessness is to be admired and encourage by all parents in this school. She gives a 110% year around to her students. She welcomes all families who want to be part of the school family regardless of their financial dificulties and religious beliefs. I have three children in the school since Pre-k. I cannot see them going anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2012

this school is a good school and Mrs.Smith works very hard to supply students with all the information needed.She truly believes a lot in the students.She even pays extra trumpet saxaphone and recorder classes for the junior high students. She gave the girls skirts so they could wear when its hot outside.Let me tell you this is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2010

great school, great prniciple Mrs Smith is the best i have 2 kids there and i will not send them to any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2008

i love this school! And Mrs.Smith is very understanding . I attended this school since i was in pre-k.Iam know in the six grade. I wouldn't ask for a better scholol envirment
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2008

I went to this school since the 6th grade and it is a very family oriented school all the teachers love their students and Mrs. Smith works very hard to keep it that way. Though this school is very good it good use a little bit more help from everyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2008

my son attends sacret heart he is in the second grade. he has lots of trouble reading and it looks like he missed the foundations. i have spoken to countless parents who express the same problem
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2008

My daughter attended this school it is pretty good. I had a problem with the teacher student ratio . Ms Smith is very involved and she knows every child that is good . However, I think they needed more activities for the children .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2007

my children attend this school i wish they could get more help outside helpfor the students , but the principal is very involoved with the children and she runs the afterschool program and takes pride in all she does
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

This school is a very good school. They have some flaws as with all schools, however they make up for this in having a very caring principal and many dedicated teachers. Discipline is taken very serious in this school and Mrs. Smith the principal knows ever students names. Religion is also very important and the day is never started without a prayer.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 88% 21%
Two or more races 7% N/A
Hispanic 3% 21%
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
White 0% 52%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Yvonne-Therese Russell-Smith
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • AACS
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Brooklyn
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

115-50 221st Street
Queens, NY 11411
Phone: (718) 527-0123

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps Ms 147 Ronald Mcnair
Cambria Heights, NY


Teci Prep
Queens, NY




Is 192 The Linden
Saint Albans, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT