Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 66 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Queens College School For Math Science And Techno
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 29, 2016
- a parent
The Parent Coordinator needs to be more friendly. When I called for information for applying for the school. She sounded very frustrated with no patient. It was not a pleasant experience.

Queens College School For Math Science And Techno 2

Posted February 29, 2016
- a parent
The Parent Coordinator needs to be more friendly when she's approached with questions. I called for information to apply for the school for my kid. She was frustrated and had no patient for any of my questions. Her altitude was not professional and I hope she does NOT treat any of our kids this way.


Queens College School For Math Science And Techno 4

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
My kids have been at this school for the last 6 years and they have always been happy there. The teachers know who all the kids are and once they are in middle school they enjoy seeing their elementary school teachers in the hall!

Queens College School For Math Science And Techno 5

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
great school, my girl she love it and learn a lot of things, thank you

Queens College School For Math Science And Techno 2

Posted September 20, 2015
- a parent
i am a parent of a student that has gone here and graduated here. my child has been there for 1st-8th grade. once she got into middle school the kids became more nasty and harmful to those and those around my child. my child's middle school experience was horrible! they need to control the kids behavior in 5th-8th grade. if you are looking for a school for your child grades pre-k-4th THAT'S GREAT but by the time they hit middle school the child should leave :)


Queens College School For Math Science And Techno 5

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
I have been a parent of 3 kids at this school for the past 5 years. My kids have all thrived academically and socially. I have had no problems with any of their teachers thus far (elementary and middle school levels), although some are more accessible than others. Most importantly, I have been able to obtain the necessary feedback from them about my children's strengths and weaknesses. Regarding the administration, I have had no negative interactions with them thus far. In fact, they have been very helpful to me in a few situations, and any issues/concerns have always been resolved in a timely and respectful manner with the acceptable attention given whether it be from the principal or office staff. I am a proud PS/IS 499 parent!!

Queens College School For Math Science And Techno 1

Posted June 03, 2015
- a community member
I was disappointed in the level of treatment I received when dealing with this school. They are derogatory and demeaning. It's quite disheartening.

Queens College School For Math Science And Techno
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted June 03, 2015
- a community member
I can't imagine a school developing this type of respect if their staff doesn't exemplify this in the treatment of parents.


Queens College School For Math Science And Techno
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted June 03, 2015
- a community member
I can't imagine the school developing this type of environment for students if their staff doesn't exemplify these values when treating parents.

Queens College School For Math Science And Techno 5

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
My kids just entered this school this year, and although we only have about a month into the school year, my kids and I love this school so far. The school offers many enrichment opportunities along with lots of learning. There is no wasted time at this school. Kids are not put into an auditorium to watch movies, etc. Teachers are excellent, Parent Coordinator top notch, goal-oriented principal excellent PTA, those are just some positive points about this school. It is also now a blue ribbon school. The only thing I disagree with is the inconsistency of uniform use with students. It would be, in my opinion, good if all students wore uniforms!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Queens College School For Math Science And Techno
148-20 Reeves Avenue, Queens, NY  11367
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 66 reviews. (718) 461-7462
Last modified Queens College School For Math Science And Techno is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top