Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 161 Arthur Ashe School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Betsy, Mrs. W, and Mrs. Sap erstwhile are the best. Thumbs up to them 3.

Ps 161 Arthur Ashe School 1

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
Good learning school However very very bad communication. When there's no communication it's very sad. This need to be fix. It doesn't makes me feel safe sending my child here.


Ps 161 Arthur Ashe School 4

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
Good school and nice teacher's.i like this school and I recommend this school for new students.

Ps 161 Arthur Ashe School 5

Posted September 28, 2013
- a parent
A great school and great teachers. My son loved this school.i saw the principle many times out side with the school safety guard helping out in the street with the traffic and the children after school.

Ps 161 Arthur Ashe School 4

Posted June 19, 2013
- a parent
I love this school they really work on improving the educational system for the kids.


Ps 161 Arthur Ashe School 3

Posted March 21, 2013
- a parent
I a grandparent/guardian of my grandson that attends Arthur Ashe Middle. I am satisfied with the class assistance he receives from the teachers and the tutoring he receives from Urban League. There are times when I need to speak to a particular sfaff there I don't get a response right away and sometimes not at all.

Ps 161 Arthur Ashe School
no rating

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
5star.My daughter is 3rd grader and she loved her school.The teachers are great.

Ps 161 Arthur Ashe School
no rating

Posted July 28, 2009
- a parent
The first time i saw this school - I sense serious education and a peacefull and friendly environment. Ms Rotando whom I met with during the last day of school has spent time and shown a lot of patience and answer all questions and given intelligent advise in the most effiecient manner. I searched many schools to place my kindergarden child in and should this school had the program that is required for him I would be the first on line for regristration. Ms. Rotando, you had given advise of a parent, teacher, educator and good citizen all in one. Thank you, PS 161 has earned their prestige with peope like you. BKhan


Ps 161 Arthur Ashe School
no rating

Posted July 20, 2009
- a parent
I am a parent of Arthur Ashe Charter School my son graduate this year and he will be a first grader. I love this school an I am very involved and excited to know that there is a school that cares about the children well being and is behind all of the students.

Ps 161 Arthur Ashe School 5

Posted January 03, 2008
- a parent
I am a parent with a Kindergartner in the school. I am soooo happy with the attention she gets. I think it has a great curriculum and her teacher is great too. I couldn't believe it when my daughter, in kindergarten, came home with sheets of homework the first day of school! She is learning so much and is starting to read. P.S. 161 is giving my daughter a quality primary education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 161 Arthur Ashe School
101-33 124th Street, Queens, NY  11419
(718) 441-5493
Last modified Ps 161 Arthur Ashe School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 161 Arthur Ashe School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top