Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Queens High School For The Sciences At York Colleg 5

Posted October 13, 2014
- a student
This school is one of he best schools. It is small so mostly everyone knows each other, and you are forced to do well; there is hardly anyone who will not succeed, unless they are set on failing. Another thing: they offer many AP Tests, which really help in college. -Previous student

Queens High School For The Sciences At York Colleg 5

Posted September 27, 2011
- a student
its nice sometimes youll get a teacher who gives 2 much hw but overall 5/5


Queens High School For The Sciences At York Colleg 5

Posted January 23, 2011
- a student
Great school, the principal is the best. She gets things done and makes you feel like you're important. This is hard to get at a big school. MOST of the teachers are dedicated and love to help with exceptions of a few.

Queens High School For The Sciences At York Colleg 5

Posted September 20, 2009
- a student
I love how every staff members and teachers know the students in school, which makes it easier to bond and get help from the staff members. The school is smaller, which means the school can pay more attention to all the students unlike a really big school. Our school also has fundraiser events to help with charity and consists of dances and many shows.

Queens High School For The Sciences At York Colleg 0
no rating

Posted September 20, 2009
- a student
It's peaceful. The teachers and students are very close. There are many events. The grades are closely knit and everybody gets along well. It's my second home.


Queens High School For The Sciences At York Colleg 0
no rating

Posted September 20, 2009
- a parent
Its small so you know everyone very easily and the students and teachers are really nice

Queens High School For The Sciences At York Colleg 5

Posted September 20, 2009
- a community member
Queens High School for the Sciences is a school that not only teaches its students well academically, rather it also prepares students for the real world while creating an excellent atmosphere to learn well. I loved my experiences at qhssyc. It was truly great, the teachers, the students, the environment. In qhssyc, we were truly a family, everyone literally knew everyone, and we helped each other succeed. This school excels in almost all apects

Queens High School For The Sciences At York Colleg 0
no rating

Posted September 20, 2009
- a parent
It's a small school, so everyone knows each other. This place, is literally like a family. Not only does your peers know your name, the teachers, deans, and even our own principal knows you. They also offer a variety of classes to the students, however, if we did get the money, I'm sure we could fund our clubs / technology. Such as smart boards, etc.


Queens High School For The Sciences At York Colleg 0
no rating

Posted September 20, 2009
- a parent
We have the best teachers :D and all the students are friendly XP Plus we have 'advanced' classes LOL

Queens High School For The Sciences At York Colleg 0
no rating

Posted September 20, 2009
- a parent
We're amazing! we're on a college campus, have a swim team, tennis team, and handball team (who has ever heard of a handball team?!). Although we only have about 400 students, we learn more, and have personal relationships with the teachers. Since we have so few students, we're located mainly on one floor, which is good, because we don't have to worry about being late to school! there are sooo many to mention, but i need to do my hw now :) soo, I'll leave it at that.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Queens High School For The Sciences At York Colleg
94-50 159th Street, Queens, NY  11433
(718) 657-3181
Last modified Queens High School For The Sciences At York Colleg is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Queens High School For The Sciences At York Colleg Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top