Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


44 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Information Technology High School 5

Posted June 07, 2014
- a community member
I have read most of the reviews and most are total lies. This school in my opinion is a good school. Teachers are caring and make you feel welcoming. They care about their students education and take it very seriously. They give after school help and when you're getting closer to important exams they give Saturday school for extra tutoring. At the beginning of the school year, most of the teachers let you know that people attending the school aren't always very considering. Yes, phones and electronics have been stolen like most schools. Teachers always let you know that students do steal electronics or other things at times. That's the reason why you should always keep your things close to you or in your locker. They warn you about these kind of things, so you should know better and be more considerate about your stuff. There's 3 very fun technology academics, many sports and clubs. Overall, this school is a very good school.

Information Technology High School 5

Posted May 15, 2014
- a community member
To be honest the school is not bad it's the students. When I attended info tech it was a great experience perhaps all the good teachers have left.


Information Technology High School 1

Posted May 11, 2014
- a community member
Worst school ever. Teachers honestly don't care about the students. They just want high ratings so they stay hired. The kids spend a whole year making a website. Website making IS NOT HARD. You can teach yourself how to do it in SIX MONTHS. Kids are welcomed to skip class, no one will stop them. How? I don't know. This is probably the worst school I've ever seen. Security is a joke. You can wander into the school ignoring security. Did anyone see the NEWS ARTICLE ABOUT THIS!? It's awesome. Reporters walked in and wandered around for almost HALF AN HOUR no questions asked. Do you want your kids coming to this? What if it was a person with a gun? This school is so bad, I've heard teachers tell students they get extra credit if they go on sites and give the school a good review.

Information Technology High School 5

Posted December 25, 2011
- a parent
I LIKE THIS SCHOOL BUT THE ONLY THING THAT THEY NEED TO IMPROVE IS HOW TO KEEP THE KID ON A GOOD BEHAVE BECAUSE MANY GOOD KID WANT TO PAY ATTENTION IN CLASSROOM AND THE OTHER KIDS START MAKING NOISE AND THEY DO NOT LET OTHER DO

Information Technology High School 1

Posted December 22, 2011
- a student
The deans at this school have absolutely no idea how to properly run a school. There is no permanently set principal, "random scanning" restricts students whom bring their cell phones to school as a means of communication with their parents, constantly changing policies, and the investment of plasma screen TVs pushed out possibilities for new textbooks and the promised laptops for each student. No one at this school, with the exception of some staff, knows what they are doing.


Information Technology High School 1

Posted December 02, 2010
- a community member
I have a brother who is a freshman in this school and i have not heard of a school that have the investments of getting a 55-65 inch flat screen tv for the entrance of the school but do not have the investments for installing security cameras in the school hallways. They dont have the investments for having security guards or deans to walk and patrol the hallways to make sure there is no wrong doing. As I mentioned above, my brother started in this school in September of this year and already he has had two cell phones and a psp go(used for music for when he travels, he doesnt live in the LIC area)stlen from him. The only thing the deans can say was that they cant do much of anything but investigate..where I have not heard from the school AT ALL about the issue. I feel they raise thieves in that school. This school wasted their fundings on unecessary things. They can have a big screen tv, really nice interior offices for deans and such but cant install security cameras in the hallways that would protect their students

Information Technology High School 1

Posted November 20, 2010
- a student
The school is at the edge of destruction. It currently has no full time principle and is no different from any other school that is NOT about technology. They keep changing things around, so it's hard to know what's going on and what's not. The rules are never enforced and they never just stick to one idea. The staff and board keep treating the school as if it was a bad school, trying to enforce detention and a uniform policy. I say that if a school isn't bad, don't treat it like a bad school. Because if you treat a school like it's a bad school, then eventually it'll become one.

Information Technology High School 1

Posted April 30, 2010
- a parent
It's funny how the majority of the reviews were posted in 9/09 and are submitted as 'Parent Reviews' but were clearly written by teens. This school has taken a major decline since the Principal Casella took office. You cannot get her on the phone and she routinely cancels student organized events such as blood drives and socials. The school has completely and utterly lost focus of what it was meant to be: a vocational school for Information Technology. I've been told by staff that no one knows how they want to formulate Information Technology into the curriculum, if at all. Meetings have been held where the essence of 'Information Technology' would be that the students would be able to access their grades and assignments online. This teaches them nothing about Information Technology nor does it prepare them for the field as it was meant to.


Information Technology High School 5

Posted October 16, 2009
- a student
fantastic staff fantastic students fantastic assistant principals and an awesome principal

Information Technology High School 0
no rating

Posted October 16, 2009
- a parent
best football team, coaches and teachers in the world

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Information Technology High School
21-16 44th Road, Queens, NY  11101
(718) 937-4270
Last modified Information Technology High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Information Technology High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top