Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Stanislaus Kostka School

Private | PK-8 | 222 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Queens

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $447,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,420.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2013

This school is definitely an inviting environment. I have gone to this school since I was 4 (in Nursery!), and I am now in 8th grade and I am definitely going to miss this place. It is a very comfortable and loving environment, the teachers care very much about the welfare of each and every student, and there is very strict discipline which creates well behaved students. I have learned so much from going here; the education is challenging, but the teachers help you through. I have made so many amazing people here that I hope to stay in contact with for the rest of my life, thanks to St. Stan's. Overall, the school is great, and I would recommend anyone to send their children here for a great education and strict discipline.


Posted May 30, 2013

St. Stanislaus Kostka Catholic Academy is a hidden gem - the best elementary school in Greenpoint/Williamsburg. Many parents in our growing neighborhood either focus on public schools or new charter schools but St. Stan's as it is affectionately known has been educating well-rounded, civic-minded students for decades. The teachers have years of experience. The curriculum is strong. The community is solid. Overall, the school is very academically focused (as opposed to a Reggio approach), with homework and even spelling tests starting in Kindergarten. This is balanced with a dedication to the arts (a spring show, a school musical, and a music supplement in the curriculum) and to community service. The main classroom teachers as well as the special subject teachers guide the children's learning with dedication and patience. The children are supportive of each other across all grade levels - the best example of the caring and family atmosphere that is fostered at St. Stan's. It is precisely this atmosphere - this community - that I trust to take care of my child. I am confident that my child is safe and getting the best education she can. (and I love the uniforms too!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2013

There are simply not enough great things I can say about this school. They take academics very seriously--with almost all of the students scoring well above the average on NY state exams. But at the same time, they make learning and attending school fun for the students. Crazy hat day, pajama day, tons of extracurricular activities, and just a family type of atmosphere. There is constant and open communication with the teachers and Principal who are approachable and very easy to talk with. Your child is in a warm, safe, nurturing environment with people who care deeply for them. Really, what more could you ask for? Worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2009

caters mostly to the polish kids, tend to clique together
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

St. Stan's prepared my daughter extremely well for a highly competitive high school. She found herself academically superior to most of her classmates. Lots of individual attention & great discipline policies allow even the most reluctant children to learn. Great dedicated teachers with very little turnover. School offers a very personal approach...they become part of your family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2008

At every level there are teachers who care deeply about the students, their achievements, their self-esteem, and their faith. St. Stan's is a special place to be, not only academically and spiritually, but also has strong leadership involvement by its principal and parents. This school identifies strongly with the community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 10, 2008

the best school on the planet. Awesome teachers, awesome principal, awesome activities. This is the place for your child if you want the finest education possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2008

This is a great school! The teachers are caring and nurturing. My child is receiving a great education here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2008

I am a parent of four children that graduated from St. Stanislaus Kostka. I found the school excellent in preparing them for High School. The enviroment is safe, freindly and supportive. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2008

Quality education in a atmosphere that is caring and value based.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 52%
Hispanic 13% 21%
Asian 4% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Black 0% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Rose Torma
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Brooklyn
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6117 Grand Avenue
Queens, NY 11378
Phone: (718) 326-1585

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 153 Maspeth
Maspeth, NY


Ps 9
Maspeth, NY


Ps 290
Maspeth, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT